twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    moi5687
    Jan 31, 2022
    8

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    A new perspective every week!

    A general feminism podcast, only the constant switching of hosts allows for a wider range of views and perspectives on different topics and provides some great fodder for conversation. I sometimes find myself disagreeing with one or more of the hosts but I like that it gets me to think about new things differently!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    angrylf
    Jan 29, 2022
    2

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Insufferable woke nonsense

    Utterly predictable dogma - no thought - just repeating of clichés

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    SavvyTricia
    Jan 25, 2022
    6

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Bring back June, Hannah and Noreen!

    The Waves (formerly Double X Gabfest) was so excellent with the original hosts - June, Hannah and Noreen. The reunion show only confirmed that - these women have intelligence, inquisitiveness, and interest. It's fallen mightily without these fab women at the helm. Please bring them back!!!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    RuthaM
    Jan 6, 2022
    6

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Hit or miss

    I loved the old show and the recent reunion episodes just reinforced that. The new format is too casual. I like getting to know the hosts and new people every week makes this impossible. I rarely listen anymore. Too much just two people chatting. Needs more structure.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    HGW18
    Dec 26, 2021
    10

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Reunite more!!

    Loved, LOVED the June/ Hanna/ Noreen reunion episode. It felt like visiting with old friends— who intellectually challenge, delight, and expose me to books and media I must consume. Please come back more regularly!! We missed you.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jennifer Moorman Bolanos
    Nov 2, 2021
    10

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Climate Change worries

    I was happy to listen to this episode. I’ve been thinking a lot about this, feeling kinda small and learning that some of the efforts I’ve made really create no change. Thanks for sharing. Im going to keep researching.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Nobody26
    Nov 2, 2021
    10

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Climate Change worries

    I was happy to listen to this episode. I’ve been thinking a lot about this, feeling kinda small and learning that some of the efforts I’ve made really create no change. Thanks for sharing. Im going to keep researching.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    The Mrs Sykes
    Oct 27, 2021
    8

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Four Stars

    I definitely enjoyed the original format of this show more. But I’m still in for now.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    oiseau-wazo
    Oct 16, 2021
    10

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Loved the climate ep

    Not an issue I previously thought as having a gender bent. Loved Grace’s insights.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    User1219
    Sep 10, 2021
    6

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Not as good anymore

    This show is a shadow of its former self. I understand the reasoning behind the new format, but having different hosts every week leads to way more stilted and awkward conversations since there isn’t the same history of relationship and discussion as there used to be. I’d recommend they kept some consistency—the same 2 people speak about a topic every 4 weeks or something, so that there is a baseline relationship for these convos.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    lizzardmelissa
    Aug 22, 2021
    10

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Worth the wait i like the new format

    i liked the waves in 2015 when i reviewed it last - was it Double X then? might have been. i enjoy the new format with different hosts each week and different topics - not just the same old "what happened this week rehash with a feminist take" The true crime episode is a good example. Thanks, Slate, for trying somehting new! My review of Double X from 2015: I wait patiently for the podcast every two weeks. i wish it was issued every week. it is my favorite podcast right now. i like all of three women and feel like i amsitting around chatting with them. althought i sometimes respond out loud!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    mmr424
    Jul 2, 2021
    2

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    ???

    Did one of the hosts actually just reassure women that things will be ok and give this list of examples: having babies young, her husband getting fired, her sister-in-law being MURDERED? Followed by “It wasn’t great” (!!) cannot relate.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Daseeds
    Jun 5, 2021
    2

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Cancel culture in action

    If you want to hear cancel culture in action, listen to The Waves. The hosts repeat unsubstantiated allegations, engage in what is essentially gossip, and without coming out and saying so, tear down a show about black lesbians because the creators may have engaged in possibly “problematic behavior.” Hope I see all of you at the labor camps for us bourgeois reformists!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Uofigirl
    Jun 4, 2021
    4

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Sigh. I WANT to like this, but...

    ... the episode on Master of None is SO tiresome that I’m not sure this can be listened to. If listening to two women try to out-woke each other is your cup of tea, then give this podcast a try. But if you are looking for original feminist thought, this isn’t it.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ptwas
    Jun 1, 2021
    6

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    A truly petty comment but...

    Please it’s 2021; no more overlapping repetition of the same phrase as a stylistic audio tag, let’s leave that in RadioLab of ten years ago as we should.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    jenw/1n
    May 27, 2021
    10

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Thank you!!

    I am so happy this show is back!!! I am long time listener and very excited for the new format. Thank you Slate for bringing it back!!!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    LAR1981
    May 24, 2021
    10

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Love this show

    I am over the moon that The Waves is back! I’m curious to see how the new format plays out. I’m sure it’ll be great.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Libby.Brown
    Apr 16, 2021
    10

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    Miss the show

    I’d love the show no matter who hosts. Often think about their segments and wonder how they would rate something on the “is it sexist” scale.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Kmccrom
    Jul 18, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    I miss The Waves!

    I listened to this from the get go and found it consistently intelligent, illuminating, and fun. I hope Slate brings it back soon.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    fem80
    May 15, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Waves: Gender, Relationships, Feminism

    longtime listener, and still love it

    the hosts had mentioned all the hate, and at first i felt guilty for emailing in from time to time with a strong reaction to a discussion especially since i'd never get a response. but reading the reviews going back in time to the transition in hosts to the current lineup clarified for me that i'm definitely not part of that hate mail. i have to say reading these comments saddens me as another example of women hating on women (i'm still grappling with that happening in politics)... i would agree that the 4 hosts took some time to get into a groove, as well as that some hosts have some ticks, but i've never felt that the show would get 1 start for these growing pains. i'll admit that Nicole does push my buttons in her antagonism towards white people - but i try to give her the benefit of the doubt since it is difficult to handle race issues, and i look at her role on the show as the realtime perspective of the gen x/older millenial black community. Christina has a strong leadership personality, but she's very authenthic, articulate and informed, even though i don't always agree with her perspective. overall the show is still my favorite podcast, and i hope it will have a bright future.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
372 Episodes 1.41k Ratings First Aired: Oct 30, 2014 🇺🇸

The Waves, formerly known as the Double X Gabfest, is a weekly conversation about news and culture examined through the lens of gender and feminism. Every Thursday, join the hosts—including Invisibilia co-host Hanna Rosin, New York magazine's Noreen Malone, Slate Podcasts' June Thomas, Slate staff writer Christina Cauterucci, Marcia Chatelain of Georgetown University, and Thirst Aid Kit's Nichole Perkins—for frank discussions about the ways gender shapes everything. Our new name reflects generations of women from the various waves of feminism, the sound waves that carry us to your ears, and the waves we intend to make.

Published by

People

372 Episodes 1.41k Ratings First Aired: Oct 30, 2014 🇺🇸

The Waves, formerly known as the Double X Gabfest, is a weekly conversation about news and culture examined through the lens of gender and feminism. Every Thursday, join the hosts—including Invisibilia co-host Hanna Rosin, New York magazine's Noreen Malone, Slate Podcasts' June Thomas, Slate staff writer Christina Cauterucci, Marcia Chatelain of Georgetown University, and Thirst Aid Kit's Nichole Perkins—for frank discussions about the ways gender shapes everything. Our new name reflects generations of women from the various waves of feminism, the sound waves that carry us to your ears, and the waves we intend to make.

Published by

People

0:00 0:00