twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    Gymratsue
    Dec 27, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    This is totally addictive

    I listen when I am cooking dinner, cleaning the house and organizing my papers, exercising. I can’t turn it off!! It’s too good.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    P Minns
    Dec 25, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Long haul drivers will love this one!!

    Very interesting story, well narrated, guaranteed for miles and hours of intense mind stimulating entertainment!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Женя Жданова
    Dec 17, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Great story, very well done podcast

    This psychiatrist is a genius! Hands down! He was fooling and robbing the rich NYC Jewish communality for decades, and he is getting away with it, even after this podcast was released. Marty is such a jerk, so are people that were partied on his dime for years, and no one told him the truth.Dr Hershkopf is a modern Robin Hood. He took the money from the stupid rich people and donate it to charity. 😂 This podcast such a great satire on our society norms.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    alice in wibderland
    Dec 13, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Cracking Good Tale, Well Told

    What an unbelievable story of deceit and manipulation. Mesmerizing from start to finish.This series is worth listening to just for the vintage Nee York accents alone.Hope this author produces more great podcasts.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ittybittyhomestead
    Dec 4, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Riveting

    This story had me from episode one.....following the twists and turns kept me on the edge of my seat. Excellent podcast that proves the old adage, ‘truth is stranger than fiction.’

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    PedÁntîc
    Nov 22, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Fate

    I love how Fate put a journalist next door. I’m grateful that he shared this incredible story with us. A real gift for the mind. THANK YOU for giving me a reason to WANT to do the dishes.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    laursjs
    Nov 19, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Crazy

    This story is almost unbelievable. Thirty years of this poor souls’s life disappeared under the abuse of a therapist. I saw this incredible story has been adopted to make into a movie with Will Ferrell and Paul Rudd as the main characters. Hope I catch that when it comes out.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Moonflowerkl
    Nov 17, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    You can’t make this up!

    What a story! I’m hooked and can’t stop listening.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    poofmonger
    Nov 15, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Engaging and thought-provoking

    Wondery never disappoints and this is no exception. Definitely leaves you pondering where the blame lies - Ike the manipulator - Marty the gullible bad decision maker? Really eye opening look at how a smart man falls into a manipulative controlling relationship

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Danib810
    Nov 14, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Wow

    What a wild story! I was about to switch it off then I was hit with the first bombshell in episode one then binged the rest.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Sleeper me
    Nov 11, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    So crazy

    I started with a quick episode to see if I liked it and ended up cleaning my whole house and got 4 episodes deep before I turned it off. I can’t wait to listen to the rest.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    LauraGallupNY
    Nov 9, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Obsessed

    I try to get everyone I know to listen, so we can talk about it!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    jefergus
    Oct 31, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Do No Harm

    We were assigned this podcast as part of an Ethics in Counseling. I was not shocked but hope that the system will take action to prevent other people from being manipulated and hurt by unscrupulous and unethical therapists.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jess3478
    Oct 25, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Insane but true

    Thank you very much to all who have had a hand in bringing this into the light.I’m hoping there will be justice and Ike will loose his license and incur other damages!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Stealthrat4
    Oct 22, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Fascinating and frustrating

    This is a fascinating tale well told. I was left so frustrated that this could happen to a person seeking psychiatric help. It is clearly unethical for a psychiatrist to wrangle his way into a patient’s will to acquire his life savings. Surely it’s illegal as well?

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Kasiekkkkk
    Oct 4, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Well done

    Love this. Worth your time !

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    NJoanneP
    Oct 1, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    The Shrink next Door

    This was a fascinating look at a psychiatrist who demonstrated his lack of professionalism & abuse of a social relationship. His agenda was nefarious and caused distress to many patients. NJoanneP

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Ghffjhh
    Sep 27, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    So real... “ Dr. Isaac “ is everywhere in our life... lol

    So real... “ Dr. Isaac “ is everywhere in our life...

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    J.E.H. 08
    Sep 25, 2020
    8

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Creepy Truth

    I couldn’t NOT believe what I was hearing. Each episode got weirder, creepier, and scarier. Beware!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    K.E.L.VA
    Sep 22, 2020
    10

    reviewed: The Shrink Next Door

    Fascinating story, well reported.

    Jaw-dropping story about extraordinary abuse by a psychiatrist. High quality reporting and podcast. Listen, you won’t be disappointed!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
23 Episodes 21.4k Ratings First Aired: May 6, 2019 🇺🇸

Veteran journalist Joe Nocera had a Hamptons neighbor: Ike, therapist to celebrities and Manhattan’s elite. He had star-studded parties at the vacation house. But one summer, Joe came back to discover that Ike was gone, and the summer house next door had never belonged to Ike in the first place. It was Marty’s, a therapy patient of Ike’s who had finally broken free from Ike’s psychological domination. THE SHRINK NEXT DOOR is the story of one therapist’s psychological manipulation as he crossed lines and defrauded his patients — and he’s still out there. In partnership with Bloomberg.

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
23 Episodes 21.4k Ratings First Aired: May 6, 2019 🇺🇸

Veteran journalist Joe Nocera had a Hamptons neighbor: Ike, therapist to celebrities and Manhattan’s elite. He had star-studded parties at the vacation house. But one summer, Joe came back to discover that Ike was gone, and the summer house next door had never belonged to Ike in the first place. It was Marty’s, a therapy patient of Ike’s who had finally broken free from Ike’s psychological domination. THE SHRINK NEXT DOOR is the story of one therapist’s psychological manipulation as he crossed lines and defrauded his patients — and he’s still out there. In partnership with Bloomberg.

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
0:00 0:00