twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    Cptg1776
    Oct 28, 2020
    4

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Not Safe!

    I almost posted episode 50 to my company website. Glad I listened to the last 5 minutes. BDSM? Really??

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Intrepidsoul
    Jun 15, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Always loved this podcast

    I love Liz. She’s so frank, funny, and great with feedback without being harsh. Rico is a good pairing. I just wish though that they could get that not everyone reaches an age or a stage where they become a manager. I feel like that part of their podcast is tone deaf. I miss Larry Seale.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Chrdier
    Apr 17, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    So bummed it ended!

    I’m coming out of maternity leave only to find that my favorite work-topic podcast is ending?! Let me say THANK YOU Rico and Liz for the great times. Hope to “see” you guys collaborate again.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Juana M
    Apr 14, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Love the new co-host Rico

    Update: I am so happy is still ongoing. The chemistry between Liz and Rico is perfect, love the dynamic of this pairing. Hardball big boss prospective Liz balanced with down to earth man of the people Rico. Have listened since the beginning, miss Pen & Pencil.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    NYC131313
    Mar 31, 2020
    6

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Rico is a dbag

    Liz is really interesting and accomplished: her advise was useful and kind. I’m not impressed by Rico, a consummate privileged male who never had a really experience with being passed over, harassed or being forced to quit save for some lame example from a high school job where he walked out bc it interfered w his personal life. Hearing him use this as an example of what others were going through when discussing sexism in the workplace was so gross and disappointing. He capped off the last episode with a self review of his shortcomings which was another stupid joke about never getting cheesits to sponsor the show. So lame.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    stupidstup
    Mar 31, 2020
    6

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Rico is a dbag

    Liz is really interesting and accomplished: her advise was useful and kind. I’m not impressed by Rico, a consummate privileged male who never had a really experience with being passed over, harassed or being forced to quit save for some lame example from a high school job where he walked out bc it interfered w his personal life. Hearing him use this as an example of what others were going through when discussing sexism in the workplace was so gross and disappointing. He capped off the last episode with a self review of his shortcomings which was another stupid joke about never getting cheesits to sponsor the show. So lame.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    drdebido
    Mar 11, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    I’m so going to miss this!

    This was my Monday morning drive to work treat, an enjoyable way to kick off my work week. Gonna need to find another winner.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Joan of DC
    Mar 10, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Real issues, good advice

    I really enjoy this podcast. The hosts have a great mix of work experience, and they offer some real wisdom. There is a good vibe between the two hosts, and a useful, fun variety of topics covered.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Bro Scientist
    Feb 12, 2020
    2

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Missing “not” in the title

    Bleeped F word every other sentence or so and frank talk about casual sex. At my work listening to this podcast would get me sued for harassment and fired.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    arosdo
    Dec 29, 2019
    4

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    I wish Larry were back full time

    I find Rico immature and he doesn’t bring anything valuable—except to interrupt with an unfunny joke. Larry is great at understanding why people do what they do and how to have healthy conversations. Rico lacks depth and emotional intelligence.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    rat_atat
    Dec 23, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    We all need this

    Liz & Rico are truly funny great hosts. I love the topics & the calls from listeners! I was inspired to leave my toxic workplace in the dust in part by this podcast. Thanks for bringing a dose of reality into my crazy life!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jbean57
    Dec 10, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Therapy

    this podcast is like my work therapy. it’s gotten me though a lot these past few weeks. so happy i found it

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Dolls0120
    Oct 30, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Great podcast!

    I love SFW! There is always practical advice and Rico and Liz are so wise! Please continue to cover relatable topics! :)

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    susan_coach
    Oct 27, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Think of you as friends at the water cooler

    I look forward to this podcast each week - not for the advice (I find it directed towards a younger audience) but for the chemistry and fun that Liz and Rico have together.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Lith Lady designs
    Oct 18, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Lingo Bingo is the BEST

    Thanks for enlightening your audience with some of the most ridiculous terms that are being used in workplaces. 😁

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    dirty stasch
    Oct 5, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    5 star

    Fantastically easy to listen to. Relevant and applicable . Funny to boot!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Lorelski
    Aug 27, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Update... Now it's Safe For Work

    By the podcast's own definition, "Safe for Work" is *not* about helping you "crush it" at work—it is about overcoming obstacles, finding your voice, siezing the right opportunities, and attaining satisfaction in your work while balancing it with the rest of your life. Sure, if you're looking for a promotion or a raise, the cohosts (Liz & Matt) will help you with that, but they are bottom-line interested in your finding a healthy workstyle (my words).This reincarnation of what was once the "I Hate My Boss" podcast has many improvements. For one, they axed the adorable but really not helpful comedy sketches from the old podcast. Liz Dolan remains a terrific cohost: nimble, humane, experienced and knowledgeable. And when she doesn't know something, she admits it. Filling in the knowledge gaps are professionals on different aspects of work/life. I particularly appreciate the insights drawn from the psychologists/therapists that have been enlisted. The old cohost, Larry, comes back to provide coaching as well. As for the new cohost, Matt Ritter, he's slighty qualified in that he has done some recruiting work, not really an expert in the field, but he has a good personality and not a self-promoter—quite refreshing. I appreciate the "call-in" segments. as well.I've been listening to this podcast through each of its various incarnations and, while I've always enjoyed the show, I have to say it's hit its stride with the addition of Rico Gagliano to the show. Rico is the best cohost that the already superb Liz Dolan has ever had of the podcast. I am a freelancer so I'm not exactly the target audience for Safe for Work, but I still get a lot out of it through Liz & Rico's insights and from "the trenches" when the two hosts answer questions for those who "call in." Besides the call-ins, I usually enjoy the foundation info delivered on SFW. The use of experts seems judicious, especially when mental health professionals contribute. Some of the folks they interview—often authors hawking their new books—seem a bit narrow and trendy, but it's fine to hear from another county now and then. I do find some of their formula features (there's one that uses quotes from movies and TV) to be unnecessarily cute, but it may appeal to other listeners, and there is usually some interesting topic being covered during those features.I hope the pet peeves I've listed above don't overshadow my enthusiasm and appreciation for SFW, it's purpose, its hosts and their delivery. It really is thoughtful and constructive, and most listeners should find it riveting. Thanks, Wondery, for supporting this great podcast!NOTE:My comment below from my previous review still holds true:One of the other reviewers complains that this podcast seems only to be for those working in the corporate environment. SFW doesn't claim to be anything else, but it does make me think that Wondry would do well to create a podcast for those who don't work in that environment: service workers, factory workers, etc. I don't work in those industries but I would love to listen to a podcast about that as well. It's all about people, people!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    embracelifedaily
    Aug 21, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Love love love this!!

    This is the best podcast! It delights me every episode. Liz and Rico are hilarious and so entertaining. I tell all my friends to listen in, learn something new, get great advice and laugh your commute away.Keep up the fabulous work -you help fill this world with work joy 😃Sarah

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    GeorgiaKnittingLady
    Jul 15, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Great career podcast!

    I learn something new every episode. Love the listener questions and your guests input too. It seems no what the field, the same issues exist. Listening to this every Monday morning gives me a boost to face the week! Thanks!!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    jototheyo
    Jul 10, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Safe For Work

    Fave career podcast

    Love this show! Liz & Rico add some humor to some usually mundane topics. I love seeing what they will be discussing each week and they have covered many topics that directly apply to my career right now. I always lol at the horrible work phrases they make fun of, so relatable when you’re working in the corporate world. Keep up the good work guys!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
138 Episodes 777 Ratings First Aired: Jul 2, 2018 🇺🇸

Life at work can be funny, challenging, ridiculous, and -- yes, even satisfying. Here at Safe For Work, we're all about helping you find balance and happiness in your career. After all, many of us spend more time with our co-workers and clients than with our friends and family. Hosts Liz Dolan and Rico Gagliano give advice on everything from how to avoid burnout on the job to how to fake an illness when you're calling in sick. We also talk to experts about those moments at the office that can challenge the best of us: negotiating raises, knowing when it’s time to move on...or dealing with that annoying office mate with no boundaries. From Wondery, the network behind Business Wars, Safe For Work is helpful career advice that's lively and fun, just like your work life should be. In every episode, Liz and Rico talks with callers, business leaders and noted know-it-alls who share their hard-earned wisdom from the trenches. Liz Dolan is the former head of marketing at Nike, The Oprah Winfrey Network and National Geographic and host of the podcast Satellite Sisters. Rico Gagliano is a contributor to The Wall Street Journal, former host of podcast Dinner Party Download, reporter on the public radio show Marketplace, and co-author of BRUNCH IS HELL.

Published by

People

Tagged with

Self-Improvement
138 Episodes 777 Ratings First Aired: Jul 2, 2018 🇺🇸

Life at work can be funny, challenging, ridiculous, and -- yes, even satisfying. Here at Safe For Work, we're all about helping you find balance and happiness in your career. After all, many of us spend more time with our co-workers and clients than with our friends and family. Hosts Liz Dolan and Rico Gagliano give advice on everything from how to avoid burnout on the job to how to fake an illness when you're calling in sick. We also talk to experts about those moments at the office that can challenge the best of us: negotiating raises, knowing when it’s time to move on...or dealing with that annoying office mate with no boundaries. From Wondery, the network behind Business Wars, Safe For Work is helpful career advice that's lively and fun, just like your work life should be. In every episode, Liz and Rico talks with callers, business leaders and noted know-it-alls who share their hard-earned wisdom from the trenches. Liz Dolan is the former head of marketing at Nike, The Oprah Winfrey Network and National Geographic and host of the podcast Satellite Sisters. Rico Gagliano is a contributor to The Wall Street Journal, former host of podcast Dinner Party Download, reporter on the public radio show Marketplace, and co-author of BRUNCH IS HELL.

Published by

People

Tagged with

Self-Improvement
0:00 0:00