twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    lanefrommaine
    Jan 6
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    Captivating, almost too bizarre to be true

    It’s a story that’s so out there, it’ll make you question if some of the show is indeed fabricated. Excellent mixing and production. Makes a world of difference, outstanding podcast.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Caver42
    Jan 6
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    Best podcast series of all time - period!

    This is the standard by which all other podcasts will be judged. I’ve consumed thousands of hours of podcasts and this one has no competition. Don’t get me wrong there are other great podcasts out there, but nothing in this league.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Amsjacobs
    Jan 6
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    Hooked in less than 10 minutes

    John B. Is someone you won’t soon forget. Haven’t finished the series yet but I’m definitely hooked. Well done.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    jess 1977
    Jan 5
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    A masterpiece.

    Beautifully told. Heartbreaking and haunting.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    MarshaShane
    Dec 27, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    I cannot believe I’ve just now found this

    This has to be one of the best podcast series that I have ever listened to. I live in Alabama and had no idea about this. You gave me the ability to have empathy to each and every person in this series. Outstanding

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Rick - Poughkeepsie
    Dec 23, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    Incredible

    This is one of the most incredible podcasts/ stories I have ever heard. Fascinating, a little bewildering, and very very sad … yet powerful. My deep deep compliments to the narrator, writer, interviewer and his team. You all showed how much talent and strength you have by sticking with, and then telling this story. Amazing. Thank you.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    CreeBo33
    Dec 20, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    This is the one!

    This is the one that started al podcasts for me! As A girl from small town Alabama, this story had me floored and hanging on every episode.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    LoveIllinois
    Dec 20, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    My favorite podcast too

    I just read a review how this is their favorite podcast of all time and the same is for me: I have listened to a lot of them-but this is still my favorite.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jenster1408
    Dec 14, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    Mesmerizing

    There is something about this podcast. I started it thinking it was true crime, then I went on a emotional roller coaster ride. I would recommend this podcast to anyone. After reading the other reviews and googling an update, I thought my opinion would change but it did not. In my opinion, John would be over the moon knowing that so many people know his name and were on awe by him. With millions of listeners in different states and countries, he kind of finally got out of S-Town nor will he be forgotten anytime soon.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    AbsoluteOwnage
    Dec 14, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    My all time favorite podcast.

    And I’ve listened to thousands of hours of pocasts in the past couple years.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    jim wills
    Dec 12, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    Gold standard

    My sister had been trying to get me into podcasts for years. Finally cajoled me into listening to S***town two years ago and I never turned back. Problem is, I’ve listened to many great podcasts, but could never find anything to match it. Did a second listen this past week and it was better than I remembered.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    bob from brighton
    Dec 11, 2021
    2

    reviewed: S-Town

    Ethically revolting.

    I hope producers have trouble sleeping at night.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    DCMcD CHAJUP
    Dec 10, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    Stunning

    A profoundly important look at a slice of America through the eyes of an unsuspecting anthropologist. Thank you.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Cry2stal
    Dec 8, 2021
    8

    reviewed: S-Town

    First Listen

    And it’s phenomenal. Can’t wait to listen again and see what I missed. John S McElmore was here.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    mmorgan459
    Nov 28, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    Round 2

    I’m listening to the story again for the second time and it is still having a profound impact on me.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Gggjkkkjbfff
    Nov 24, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    Perfection

    The greatest story I’ve ever listened to. Thank you for telling John’s story.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    mysterymach
    Nov 21, 2021
    2

    reviewed: S-Town

    Nope.

    Terribly exploitive and frankly pointless. Does Brian Reed have any shame or humanity? He's a vulture. People hate journalists because instead of pursuing actual stories they simply exploit to satisfy people's ghoulish voyeurism. Brian finished the job that the world did on John B. He used him like a carcass and is probably sitting drinking an espresso in NYC feeling like some kind of humanitarian. There was a real story to tell here, and Brian failed to tell it. What began as a good story turned into a tabloid. Also- why does he have this upperward lilt at the end of his sentences as if he is always asking a question? Once you start hearing it you can't unhear it. Not worthy of its reputation by a long shot. Im glad John B's family sued. I would nail you to the wall.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Arizona_AM
    Nov 20, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    Love this!

    We all need an Uncle Jimmy in the background. His chime in’s from the background are my favorite. :)

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    So then what happened?
    Nov 13, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    The One x2

    Swear to you . . . I was going to write this exact same review. Love Serial. Nice job.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ashmarie223
    Nov 12, 2021
    10

    reviewed: S-Town

    Listening for a second time

    A friend suggested this to me and I couldn’t stop listening. I’m listening again because I was so intrigued! I wish I could’ve met John B.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
7 Episodes 43.3k Ratings First Aired: Mar 28, 2017 🇺🇸

S-Town is a new podcast from Serial and This American Life, hosted by Brian Reed, about a man named John who despises his Alabama town and decides to do something about it. He asks Brian to investigate the son of a wealthy family who's allegedly been bragging that he got away with murder. But when someone else ends up dead, the search for the truth leads to a nasty feud, a hunt for hidden treasure, and an unearthing of the mysteries of one man's life.

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
7 Episodes 43.3k Ratings First Aired: Mar 28, 2017 🇺🇸

S-Town is a new podcast from Serial and This American Life, hosted by Brian Reed, about a man named John who despises his Alabama town and decides to do something about it. He asks Brian to investigate the son of a wealthy family who's allegedly been bragging that he got away with murder. But when someone else ends up dead, the search for the truth leads to a nasty feud, a hunt for hidden treasure, and an unearthing of the mysteries of one man's life.

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
0:00 0:00