twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    Aralia19
    May 10
    6

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    It’s was ok.

    The story is fascinating. I like the hosts and I learned new details about the Black Dalia’s case. However the story doesn’t have any other sources besides the “family” and the last episode just let me thinking that the whole thing was fake. The family reunion was filled with fake crying and cheesy dialogue. It was entertaining but I don’t feel it was real.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    etsy is awesome
    Apr 17
    6

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Very, very slow start

    First two hours of listening to the hosts giving useless background information and talking about themselves was agonizing. Gets good after that

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Ken_Krause
    Mar 31
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    This started my obsession of podcasts

    My fav podcast of all time.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    TomtomAero
    Mar 13
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    So good

    I listen to a lot of podcasts. This is my favorite of all time.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Valicia Rose
    Jan 30
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    1000/10 recommend

    This is one of my favorite podcasts. It is such an interesting story and done so well. Each episode will leave you gasping in shock and not being able to wait to listen to the next episode. There are so many twist and turns to this story and when you think it cannot get any crazier, it does. If you love true crime or just want a podcast that will keep you hooked from the very first episode, definitely give this one a listen. I always recommend this podcast to anyone looking for something new to listen to.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    MizzConchi
    Dec 16, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    The truth behind the black dalia murders.

    The truth behind the black dalia murders. Great podcast!!! 💝The LAPD has the possibility and the ability to solve the crime and bring closure to the murder and many others with one dna test but the choose not too.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    vernoica ana mars
    Nov 9, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    So many different sides to a story you think you know

    Root of Evil is a very beautifully done podcast on such a grim subject. Massive undertaking to put all these fractured traumatic stories together and even give the family members a voice after so long. I felt very honored to hear the personal testimony of the family members. Root of Evil is a very special sort of true crime podcast and very worth your time I highly recommend it.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    shany718
    Nov 5, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Great podcast!!!

    If you like true crime listen to this podcast!! Could not stop listening.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    mvalleroy
    Nov 5, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Great Podcast

    I drive for a living and listen to many podcasts, this one instantly had me hooked and made my night of driving fly by as I listened to all 8 episodes!!! Very captivating!!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    jaelin :)
    Oct 9, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    AMAZING!!

    this was an emotional rollercoaster and as a psychology student…. i LOVED it. learning about the psyche of george, tamar, and learning the family dynamics really was everything i want in a podcast. i’ve been debating between two minors: gender and sexuality studies or family studies. this has made me lean to family studies. i hope the whole family is doing well and is growing their bond

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    feltab
    Sep 30, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    A lesson on healing disguised as a True Crime podcast

    This podcast is a lot of things. It is a chilling, gripping oration of the black dahlia murder and gives incredible evidence against George Hodel as the perpetrator. However, it truly struck me as the story of a family and how the cycle of abuse took its toll on each member. Be mindful that there is quite a bit of explicit content in this show that some may find disturbing or unsettling, but the narrative is laid out beautifully to show how a family born from evil and abuse recovers itself and learns to find good. It had such an emotional effect on me and if listened to carefully, could help so many victims of abuse seek help and change for themselves.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    if we could walk across the water
    Sep 27, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Overproduced and overblown

    First complaint: the constant ominous music underneath mundane details gets distracting real fast. The vocal distortion in certain parts to make things “scarier” is equally unnecessary and annoying. Second: The forensic expert they consulted said “I can tell this was a planned killing”. Oh CAN YOU?? Groundbreaking…Third: There is no sourcing. We are supposed to take evidence of an estranged mother and someone supposedly related to a Black Dahlia suspect as truth without any evidence of that.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Keaton Marie
    Sep 22, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Chilling and Gripping

    This is a great podcast in that it tells a story really well, the family works so hard to break these terrible patterns and move on to live healthier lives. It is, however, very dark. I listen to and read some dark isn, but wow, this podcast had me in tears in some moments. They were hard to listen to. Well done and I’m happy to know the story as I do find it very interesting, but yikes, not an easy listen.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    sarah_lou_r13
    Sep 21, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Brilliantly delivered

    This podcast will be the one that stands out to me out of majority of true crime ones I have listened too being an avid listener it was so gripping, an emotional rollercoaster of events and very upsetting but also uplifting because the hodel family have broke the viscous cycle which is very important right now. Highly recommend!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Best if 2021
    Sep 21, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Wow

    This podcast will blow your mind! It starts you in a winding road and you assume it’s leading you one way, but it’s about love, and becoming a survivor!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    CharJRich
    Sep 17, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Gripping story

    I found it a bit hard to keep up with who everyone was to begin with. But once I got into I couldn’t stop listening. I binged all the episodes over 2 days. I hope for the victims sake a conviction is made by courts. And on a way I’m glad the delving into this story bought the family closer. It’s awful what they all went through. But thank you for sharing your story

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Difrances
    Sep 14, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Excellent and chilling

    First review I’ve written and I’ve listened to hundreds of podcasts over the years… this is probably top 3 for me. So well done, researched and presented. It’s a Terribly disturbing story so be warned. This story had to be told is how I took it.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Gabrielle St. Hilaire
    Sep 8, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Keep coming back

    I keep coming back to this podcast- I love how the family has made conscious steps to break generational abuse and trauma. Very well done

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    talisatay
    Aug 4, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Deep, interesting, emotional and exciting story.

    One of the best podcasts I’ve listened to in a long time- possibly ever. Each episode has a purpose and a clear part of the story to tell. I was sad that it ended.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    lilsmp
    Aug 3, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Captivating and well done

    Well done. And have and will recommend.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
15 Episodes 18.7k Ratings First Aired: Jan 22, 2019 🇺🇸

New episodes post every Wednesday. When Elizabeth Short, also known as The Black Dahlia, was brutally killed in 1947, it gripped the entire country. More than 70 years later, it remains America's most infamous unsolved murder. Many believe Dr. George Hodel was the killer, thanks to an investigation by Hodel's own son. But murder is just part of the Hodel family story, one filled with horrifying secrets that ripple across generations. Now, through never-before-heard archival audio and first-time interviews, the Hodel family opens up to reveal their shocking story. In this eight-part documentary series, sisters Rasha Pecoraro and Yvette Gentile, the great grand daughters of George Hodel, take a deep dive into their family history to try to figure out what really happened, and where do they all go from here? Root of Evil is the companion podcast to TNTs limited series I Am the Night. Inspired by the true story of the Hodel family, the series stars Chris Pine and comes from acclaimed Wonder Woman director Patty Jenkins.

Published by

People

15 Episodes 18.7k Ratings First Aired: Jan 22, 2019 🇺🇸

New episodes post every Wednesday. When Elizabeth Short, also known as The Black Dahlia, was brutally killed in 1947, it gripped the entire country. More than 70 years later, it remains America's most infamous unsolved murder. Many believe Dr. George Hodel was the killer, thanks to an investigation by Hodel's own son. But murder is just part of the Hodel family story, one filled with horrifying secrets that ripple across generations. Now, through never-before-heard archival audio and first-time interviews, the Hodel family opens up to reveal their shocking story. In this eight-part documentary series, sisters Rasha Pecoraro and Yvette Gentile, the great grand daughters of George Hodel, take a deep dive into their family history to try to figure out what really happened, and where do they all go from here? Root of Evil is the companion podcast to TNTs limited series I Am the Night. Inspired by the true story of the Hodel family, the series stars Chris Pine and comes from acclaimed Wonder Woman director Patty Jenkins.

Published by

People

0:00 0:00