twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    tgillman85
    Jan 15
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Hodel Family Legacy

    This is probably one of the best podcasts I have ever listened to. The HEARTBREAKING subject matter is dealt with in a caring and non-exploitive way. George Hodel was a truly evil man and I only wish he was still alive to be able to be brought to justice. Tamar was ruined by her father and was incredibly broken and broke and hurt anyone she could. Stories like this are so important to hear. Yvette and Rosha are amazing strong women and we’re lucky to have Fauna (one) as their mother. I hope all of the Hodel’s can find healing and peace and know that you don’t have to be what you grew up with.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Erin w s
    Jan 13
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Stunning

    This family is the epitome of good vs. evil, and completely embodies the notion that good will always triumph. The absolute terror and trauma these people faced at the hands of family members is absolutely indescribable, not to mention what Elizabeth Short experienced.Yet, the final episode, is filled with nothing but familial love and a commitment to healing. I can only hope that I would be that strong in the face of such adversity.While at times it is hard to listen to, if this family is brave enough to share this story the least we can do is be brave enough to hear it.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    kayferguson13
    Jan 11
    6

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Seriously tired of rewinding

    You start with an aunt talking & you rightfully inform the audience of that. Then you find tapes of your mom talking - no biggie. Then the birth mother is found & she’s talking, from there I DON’T KNOW WHO’S TALKING!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🤯I dont know who’s narrative I’m listening to - the tapes of your mom still or her mom in HI? This is your story not ours, a bit of narration would’ve been great. About to give up. There’s a mini series about the story on TNT.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    sashax95
    Jan 10
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    don’t skip this podcast!

    honestly one of the best, and probably my favorite podcast. such a gripping and sad story of a family with secrets. george was a monster, some segments were hard to listen too. was such a good listen though! the 2 hosts have such nice voices to listen too, will be listening for my 2nd time soon!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Newbie2012-11
    Jan 4
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Don’t miss this one.

    Informative and heartbreaking all in one. This podcast reveals just how corrupt things were in the 1940’s and beyond. A must listen!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    GRE study
    Jan 2
    8

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Horrific story

    My heart ached for all.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Ericka A Koos
    Dec 21, 2020
    8

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Great storytelling!

    Great storytelling, research, and interviews by these ladies! I don’t know if it was just like this for me in my headphones, but I found the background music, especially in the later episodes, to be super distracting, I had to restart a couple times. It was super loud lauded over important commentary, and would change what the music was & its volume frequently. Other than that and a few confusing parts of the start, this podcast is definitely worth the listen!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    12345@miniaussiesrock
    Dec 18, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Fantastic

    Such a fantastic podcast. A compelling tale, well thought out. One of the best I’ve heard this year. Well done, even the music was spot on.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    DrEagleTalon
    Dec 15, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Riveting. Interesting. Spectacular.

    All I can say is this is one of those Podcasts that is a must. It keeps you engaged from the first to last episode. While it truly shines light on the Black Dahlia Murder Case and is extremely informative, to the point of extreme graphical detail, but leaves you wanting more. I went on to learn all I could about the case because this Podcast left me so intrigued about the case. The close personalization of the Hosts makes it more than just another True Crime Story being told but being told by a Family closer than anyone to this crime and all the others not commonly known. I cannot say this enough, Listen to this Podcast.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Steamed333
    Dec 5, 2020
    8

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Episodes 6, 7, and 8 won’t play or download

    I loved this podcast until it wouldn’t let me download or play the last three episodes. I’m so bummed out. It won’t work on Stitcher either.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    sad sad sad! sad
    Dec 3, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Yes

    Very good. Information and good insight to each person involved. Found this podcast through research on Elizabeth, very pleased. Your family is one of a kind, yet you are not alone. Thank you for sharing. This has changed my perspective on some things.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    raechylle
    Dec 3, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Probably the best single season podcast I’ve listened to

    I don’t know how to put into words how this made me feel. You just have to listen to it yourself. You don’t want to skip this one.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Chels626#
    Dec 3, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    MUST Take a Listen!!!

    I’m a self proclaimed true crime obsessed lover and this podcast WILL NOT DISAPPOINT. Your first grabbed by the almost tangible connection your hosts have with the story and the murderer himself. Then the storytelling itself is not only highly detailed, but well developed. Their family story is revealed episode by episode and you begin to almost lose yourself in the characters like the ever complicated Fauna or the extremely complex Fauna #2... my point just listen!! You hear about raw family dynamics, some storylines that make even the strongest weak & even sick to their stomach - you may even cry. Again, my point - IT’S TIME TO LISTEN!!! I felt deeply connected to the characters, the storyline, and ultimately the hosts as you move through the relatively brief season. I can’t wait to hear more from them!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Casey 5
    Dec 2, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    So good.

    This is by far the best and most horrifying podcast I’ve ever listen to it! It’s so well done and so moving. Amazing

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Chrisappletv
    Nov 14, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Wow

    One of the most interesting podcasts I’ve ever listened to

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    frazierme
    Nov 11, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Came for the crime, stayed for the humans...

    I was interested in the crime aspect. After an episode I felt connected to all the people in the story. I cried with you during the final episode. Great podcast and family that can rebuild from here.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ryder7788
    Nov 10, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    The Best!!

    This was/is the best podcast I’ve listened to yet! I love how it’s first person accounts, not someone regurgitating info from Wiki. This is told by the family and they don’t hold back. I would have to say this was a different perspective than I thought it would be about the famous Black Dahlia case. There were / are so many more victims in this story, and SHAME on the LAPD for not doing their job. So proud of the family to speak on such atrocities perpetrated by a phyco who subsequently was never brought to justice, just left family to pick up the pieces and break generational trauma. THE BEST POCAST TO DATE! And I listen to a lot of them! FIVE STARS! If you enjoyed this, also watch, the movie about this exact podcast.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Lgwrite
    Oct 20, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    So freaking good!

    I just finished the last episode and my immediate inclination was to start all over from the beginning. I went into this pod curious about the Hodel family and Fauna’s story but skeptical about George Hodel as the killer of the Black Dahlia. Root of Evil does provide more evidence of George’s guilt and gruesome details of Elizabeth Short’s murder than I heard or read elsewhere but at the heart is still this gripping family drama that will alternately astound you and break your heart.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Nurs3Sam
    Oct 18, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    So good!

    I was intrigued by all the tiny details of each family member. So good! Well done!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    calc4ever
    Oct 10, 2020
    4

    reviewed: Root of Evil: The True Story of the Hodel Family and the Black Dahlia

    Why?

    The overall story is very intriguing. However, it does not make sense how the host pronounces “Tamar” incorrectly. Tamar’s children and siblings pronounce it differently from the host. It should be consistent. Names are not always pronounced how they are indicated in the dictionary and it makes sense that those closest to Tamar knew how her name was pronounced.There was a point when Steve Hodel described a case he was once involved with regarding a serial rapist-this did not even pertain to this podcast. I found the inclusion of this odd.It is difficult for the listener to recognize voices. When a person hasn’t spoken in a while, it should be announced who they are. Some parts are hard to follow because of this.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
15 Episodes 17.6k Ratings First Aired: Jan 22, 2019 🇺🇸

New episodes post every Wednesday. When Elizabeth Short, also known as The Black Dahlia, was brutally killed in 1947, it gripped the entire country. More than 70 years later, it remains America's most infamous unsolved murder. Many believe Dr. George Hodel was the killer, thanks to an investigation by Hodel's own son. But murder is just part of the Hodel family story, one filled with horrifying secrets that ripple across generations. Now, through never-before-heard archival audio and first-time interviews, the Hodel family opens up to reveal their shocking story. In this eight-part documentary series, sisters Rasha Pecoraro and Yvette Gentile, the great grand daughters of George Hodel, take a deep dive into their family history to try to figure out what really happened, and where do they all go from here? Root of Evil is the companion podcast to TNTs limited series I Am the Night. Inspired by the true story of the Hodel family, the series stars Chris Pine and comes from acclaimed Wonder Woman director Patty Jenkins.

Published by

People

15 Episodes 17.6k Ratings First Aired: Jan 22, 2019 🇺🇸

New episodes post every Wednesday. When Elizabeth Short, also known as The Black Dahlia, was brutally killed in 1947, it gripped the entire country. More than 70 years later, it remains America's most infamous unsolved murder. Many believe Dr. George Hodel was the killer, thanks to an investigation by Hodel's own son. But murder is just part of the Hodel family story, one filled with horrifying secrets that ripple across generations. Now, through never-before-heard archival audio and first-time interviews, the Hodel family opens up to reveal their shocking story. In this eight-part documentary series, sisters Rasha Pecoraro and Yvette Gentile, the great grand daughters of George Hodel, take a deep dive into their family history to try to figure out what really happened, and where do they all go from here? Root of Evil is the companion podcast to TNTs limited series I Am the Night. Inspired by the true story of the Hodel family, the series stars Chris Pine and comes from acclaimed Wonder Woman director Patty Jenkins.

Published by

People

0:00 0:00