twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    keenypeaches
    Oct 17, 2022
    2

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Is this show gratuitously insulting?

    Won’t be listening to a second more of this show. The League Of their Own episode should be taken down. Gratuitously gay? Lip service? And you didn’t even know the name of the main character. The lack of thought that went into this was awful and insulting and disappointing. How harmful to put out into the world that a beautiful, meaningful, researched, queer-fronted show is gratuitously gay. That show is exactly the kind of authentic representation we need, and you just call it gratuitous?

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    JPG4285
    Jun 16, 2022
    6

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Frustrated Ex Subscriber

    Ditto to the last unsubscribing review- was a 3 year listener (since the Brandon Tensley days) and grew pretty frustrated by the over analysis of rom coms like the holiday episode and the Fire Island episode. Is that really the stuff they set out to do? And with one pod a month, is that the best use of anyone’s time? The culture stuff clearly doesn’t bring them joy (Bryan even says he hates rom coms in the Fire island episode) when the filmmakers are working so hard to bring joy to others in this joyless world. Let rom coms be rom coms and stick to the doom and gloom facing our community that you cover quite well!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Seb528393
    Feb 25, 2022
    10

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Smart & Fun

    I love this podcast. It brings consistently thoughtful perspectives from informed hosts with a good blend of topics across the LGBTQ spectrum. I’ve discovered so much queer content thanks to their recommendations over the years. 🙏

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    L55cool
    Jan 12, 2022
    10

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Love it!

    I have been a far on this podcast for a couple years and really have loved almost every episode! I love all the hosts’ personalities and feel like they all have different but interesting things to say. 💓💓

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    I_heart_trees
    Dec 27, 2021
    8

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Complicated at best

    Lonnnnnng time listener who has been growing tired of the show having a static idea of what queerness is. Finally had to unfollow today after the discussion of how “some queer content shouldn’t be made”. As someone who believes that we need MORE queer content and celebrates the fact that now we have so much content we can even celebrate the bad … I’m gonna celebrate this pod and the years of listening by giving you a 4 star rating but also unsubscribing.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Loganfool
    Dec 7, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Who designed your cover?

    Speaks volumes.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Mr. McGuvvy
    Jul 29, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    This Podcast is Giving Me Life!

    This forum consistently provides entertaining, thought-provoking, and insightful discussions about queer culture that never fail to make me laugh, learn, and re-evaluate my own takes on queer life. It’s not stuffy at all but rather very engaging talk about books, movies, people and pop culture that I’ve come to see as invaluable.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jimbawimba
    Jun 6, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Gate keeping one minute in!

    Wow. The recent reviews say it all. I identify as a queer man and found it really strange that the first thing they start with is stuff that bothers them. The person in the FIRST episode said people who wear harnesses that aren’t in the leather community ‘provoke’ them…it doesn’t even make sense when I read it! Queer communities cannot be created and sustained when you immediately tear folks down for not participating in the ways that you deem acceptable. Disappointed to see that later episodes still feature a lot of gate keeping. Gross.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ftyjiooomkj
    Mar 8, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Smug and vapid

    Really can’t stand them.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Daseeds
    Jan 21, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Painfully predictable

    What is the point of having three hosts who all agree on every point? It feels like these hosts would simply trash talk anyone who disagreed with them behind the person’s back. Listening to the hosts, I actually now understand how the right feels about the left. The podcast has a strangely Stalinist quality.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Beccaaz746
    Aug 18, 2020
    2

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Sarah Shulman

    Give her an award for tolerating the vapid, pointless hosts.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Brad from Austin
    Mar 12, 2020
    2

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Not for me

    I discovered this podcast through the culture gabfest. I’m a gwm in my 50s and have been out and proud since I was 20. I started listening from the beginning but had to quit. The hosts are mostly there to police queer culture. They’re continually “provoked” by the smallest missteps by allies like Joe Biden, yet never discuss truly toxic people like Aaron Schock (maybe they get to him in a more recent episode). None of the current hosts are single and the show never touches on the experience of single gay people. It’s completely east coast centric. Almost no attention is paid to older gay people. They criticize others from a position of privilege without a hint of self-awareness. It’s upsetting to see everything my generation fought for devolve into this mess.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    LaLa750
    Feb 25, 2020
    2

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Stop trying to Make Outward Happen

    I was please to get an into to this podcast, via The Waves podcast, but after listening to 4 or 5 episodes, I'm out. It's way too navel-gazing and self-congratulatory.Now? I resent the heck out of the fact that Slate keeps forcing this on me, via my subscription to The Waves.Slate, to paraphrase Regina George, "Stop trying to make Outward happen!"

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    thiswillkillthat
    Jan 2, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Yes! Yes! Yes!

    We have been sadly lacking in intelligent and fun LGBTQ talk until now! Thanks for doing this, nice job peeps.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    1985SBG
    Dec 2, 2019
    2

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    So judgmental. It’s sad.

    I was excited to try this podcast but...During each episode I listened to, I kept cringing & eventually had to stop. Not everyone’s journey is the same. Stop bashing people for what they do not know. Or for feeling the way they feel because it is not exactly like your feelings. How hypocritical. To each their own. Not everyone was coming out had the capabilities to be educated on every single aspect of LGBTQIA history since the beginning of time or the random facts people create everyday to describe some random sex position or preference of who they like from a visual stand point. Make this more of a fun happy experience and discussion.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    lidaaeed
    Aug 1, 2019
    2

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Exhausting

    It gets old listening to essentialist takes on queerness and sexuality. Not every person has had the privilege of community when forging their identity, and not everyone’s experience can be reduced down to whatever fits into mainstream queer culture. WNYC’s Nancy does a much better job of approaching LGTBQIA+ topics without disdain, condescension, etc.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    LBDaniel90802
    May 7, 2019
    2

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    Disappointing

    I enjoyed listening to this until the topic of Mayor Pete came up. Apparently he is not gay enough for them and every little action by Pete needs to be dissected and evaluated. Oh you don’t like the words he used when speaking about his sexuality and coming out? He doesn’t know enough about queer history? Is he part of a scene? Talk like this will only give us 4 more years of you know who.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    BriSlayer
    May 2, 2019
    4

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    An ok podcast...but the Mayor Pete over analyzation is laughable

    Decent podcast. The hosts certainly have good chemistry. But the Mayor Pete stuff is absurd. A look at how Queer people are overanalyzing Mayor Pete’s relationship to queerness, to the point of sabotage would have been more interesting than, well...another over-analyzation of Mayor Pete’s relationship to queerness. Won’t listen again.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Dean56842
    Apr 20, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    I have learned so much!!!

    Wow!!!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    lucifer with a phone
    Apr 18, 2019
    6

    reviewed: Outward: Slate's LGBTQ podcast

    twitter hot takes spoken word

    the irony of watching the hosts talk about removing litmus tests on trans and bi folks while also being the first to call out already established queer voices for micro slights is apparently lost on the editor/s of this show if there indeed are any. virtue signaling porcelain fragile hosts take call out laden twitter hot takes and regurgitate them into your headphones. but that may just be me.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
66 Episodes 207 Ratings First Aired: Aug 13, 2018 🇺🇸

Outward, Slate's queer podcast, is a whip-smart monthly salon in which hosts and guests deepen the audience’s understanding of queer culture and politics, delight them with unexpected perspectives, and invite listeners into a colorful conversation about the issues animating LGBTQ communities.

Published by

People

66 Episodes 207 Ratings First Aired: Aug 13, 2018 🇺🇸

Outward, Slate's queer podcast, is a whip-smart monthly salon in which hosts and guests deepen the audience’s understanding of queer culture and politics, delight them with unexpected perspectives, and invite listeners into a colorful conversation about the issues animating LGBTQ communities.

Published by

People

0:00 0:00