twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    mgepark
    Dec 19, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    Love the podcast series

    This is as good as it gets for somebody from Miami and that knew enough about those days and business in FL.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    team CourtNate and Anna Banana
    Dec 18, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    This was great!!!

    Fun fact: I was one of those minors pranking the 1900 lines. I literally gave my mom a $400 phone bill. I was 11 so this was 26 years ago or so. This podcast brought back some kinda hilarious memories for me, but it was also very interesting to hear the entire background of it all. Tina did a fantastic job narrating this podcast - someone left a review about how her backstory wasn’t needed and I fully disagree! She has Cred, we needed to know that. Tina, please make more podcasts like this 🖤🖤🖤

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Hopey07
    Dec 17, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    Loved every episode

    What an interesting story! And the fact that I shed a tear at the end showed I was really into this.. I am thankful for the people taking away the stigma of sec work by showing a behind the scenes look at it, great podcast!!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Olaf Cones
    Dec 14, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    So interesting

    Love getting an inside perspective on an industry that people don’t talk much about. A great host and so glad the story is being told. It’s nice to get a break from murder true crime. I highly recommend!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    LoveTrueCrime
    Dec 11, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Operator

    Started interesting then sucked!

    I usually love Wondery podcasts. I like to hear a story. The first few episodes were good. I hated the episodes with the actual calls. Not needed to tell the story. This ruined it for me.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    MissFML
    Dec 10, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    Can’t say enough good things about this podcast!

    Blown away. Outstanding interviews & eye opening perspectives. The underlying message that sex work is work needs to be talked about so much more. I think Mike Self realized that eventually & it was cool to hear him admit this work is sometimes more honest than any other corporate industry. & that theme song!! I wanna listen to it all the time. 🎶operator operator put me on the caaaaaaalllll🎶

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    art_spasm
    Dec 9, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    Victoria is everything.

    The best ad for talk space I have ever heard. I’m not going to use it bc I can’t afford it. But if I could I would have. Victoria is clearly both the only reason you had a business and most of the reason you have a show, the rest of the reason being Tina Horn. I’m going to check out her other show after I finish this even tho I hate this subscription based system. This one is worth waiting for.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Matt.st
    Dec 7, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    Interesting

    It’s compelling to hear this behind the scenes look at this bizarre service.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    harmonyintouch
    Dec 7, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    A fascinating human interest story

    I appreciated the comprehensiveness of the story- allowing us to understand the entire scenario from the points of view of so many different players. I wonder if Mike Pardis's unexpeted death due to a blood clot in his brain (he was so healthy otherwise) was a result of a recent Covid vaccination. Blood clots, unexplained persistent bleeding, and many seemingly untimely and unrelated symptoms have been shown to be caused by the vaccines. Is it known whether he had recently received the vaccine?

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    zeitlerusmc
    Dec 7, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    5 star without a doubt

    Amazing job on this guys!! Subscribed to wondery just for this podcast alone!!!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    courtney3635352728272
    Dec 6, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    5 STARS FOR VICTORIA

    Victoria you did indeed deserve better and they didn’t appreciate your value. Know that you were important and irreplaceable. It physically pains me you were let go and left feeling the way you did. This is my new favorite podcast about a subject matter I never had any interest in and now find fascinating. Thank you to everyone who made this happen! 10/10!!!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    OliveHenn
    Dec 6, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Operator

    Wondery

    I’ve only ever had this issue with the podcasts that Wondery releases, but have had it with EVERY Wondery podcast. Every single time I am halfway through an episode and then go back to listen even 20 minutes later, it has completely cleared itself out of my podcasts app and makes me search for it again and then find my place. Even if the content is enjoyable, the aggravation of having nothing currently playing or in my que that I just put together a few minutes ago makes me stop listening every time.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Rockford Sada
    Dec 6, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    Incredible

    This took turns I did not expect. I feel like the story was told without bias or judgement. I left loving every character and learning a ton about this industry. It even changed my opinion regarding the dignity of sex work. Thank you.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    The Frugal Exerciser
    Dec 5, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    Good show

    Learned a lot of the industry that was hot in the 1990s.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Hoj215
    Dec 2, 2021
    8

    reviewed: Operator

    Giving up on ep 5

    This was pretty interesting at first, as this topic isn't one I ever gave much thought. To hear the backstory was intriguing, and personalizing sex workers by explaining it is in fact hard work is important. By episode five, however, I'm bored. Corporate greed, general natiness of human nature... I don't need or want to hear more of that. For those whining it's not free, all you have to do is wait and the episodes eventually load for free. I won't finish out the series, though. I think it could have been condensed.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    washdcart
    Dec 1, 2021
    6

    reviewed: Operator

    vocal fry

    too much vocal fry in narrator’s voice which is distracting

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    op23448264
    Dec 1, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Operator

    Not Worth It

    There is no clear disclaimer until you are expected to pay.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    floresbp
    Nov 30, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    Multiple Genres Hit

    Came over to this podcast, based off the recommendation of another Wondery podcast and found myself binging this entire series in 1-day. Comedy, suspense, true crime, betrayal, money, sex, etc., this has it all. I really enjoy the calculated and yet raw approach, toward how this series was presented.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    DustinND
    Nov 30, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    Great story told so well

    This is such a great podcast told so well.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    anonymousdetroit
    Nov 29, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Operator

    Well told!

    Oh Tina I just love you so. Your voice is a smooth story machine. This podcast brings me back to the 80’s and my teen years. The early years of phone sex really was the beginning of something new. It’s an interesting recollection. Thank you for a story well told!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
19 Episodes 571 Ratings First Aired: Oct 25, 2021

During the 1-900 number craze of the Nineties, one company provided the vast majority of phone sex. American Telnet was an empire founded by the man who called himself “The Telephone Pimp.” He ran the company “like General Motors” and got filthy rich doing it. But for the (mostly) women who answered the calls and delivered fantasies 24-7, it was a different story. The powerful stigma against sex work was always lurking just beneath the surface, until it threatened to tear apart the whole company. Hosted by Tina Horn (Why Are People Into That?), OPERATOR is an eight-part series about big ambitions, Shakespearean-level corporate backstabbing, men and women at the cutting edge of a technological revolution...and on the front lines of a sexual one.Listen to new episodes 2 weeks early and to all episodes ad free with Wondery+. Join Wondery+ for exclusives, binges, early access, and ad free listening. https://wondery.app.link/Operator

Published by

People

19 Episodes 571 Ratings First Aired: Oct 25, 2021

During the 1-900 number craze of the Nineties, one company provided the vast majority of phone sex. American Telnet was an empire founded by the man who called himself “The Telephone Pimp.” He ran the company “like General Motors” and got filthy rich doing it. But for the (mostly) women who answered the calls and delivered fantasies 24-7, it was a different story. The powerful stigma against sex work was always lurking just beneath the surface, until it threatened to tear apart the whole company. Hosted by Tina Horn (Why Are People Into That?), OPERATOR is an eight-part series about big ambitions, Shakespearean-level corporate backstabbing, men and women at the cutting edge of a technological revolution...and on the front lines of a sexual one.Listen to new episodes 2 weeks early and to all episodes ad free with Wondery+. Join Wondery+ for exclusives, binges, early access, and ad free listening. https://wondery.app.link/Operator

Published by

People

0:00 0:00