twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    Niban #2dj
    Jul 29, 2020
    6

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Wait, what?

    I have lost track of how many times I have listened to this, and I still don’t understand the ending.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    #greatstorylover
    Jul 28, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    A great podcast

    Written and narrated beatifully, Murder in Hollywood land is an intriguing and worthlistening story. Coupled with great tracks, its narrative structure is very appealing. I enjoyed it from start to finish. I highly recommend it!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    radiowarr
    Jul 27, 2020
    8

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Confusing final episode

    I loved this podcast, but the last episode had me so confused. I practically listened to it twice, and I had to rewind the ending a few times cause the deathbed confession was so freakin’ quick, I kept missing it (I listen to podcasts at work). Pretty disappointed with the ending, however, the rest of the podcast was excellent!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Alba Varden
    Jul 27, 2020
    4

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Started off well..

    The way the creators chose to tell this story really dampens the experience listening along while trying to follow the mystery. After the first 5 episodes seemed to be going some place, then the 6th episode is like a huge jerk away from the original narrative and is very confusing the way they chose to jump around and introduce suspects hardly or even never mentioned in any earlier episodes. That last episode was a just sooooo long and beyond confusing that I was literally yelling at my phone to “get to the point!” I normally never write these reviews but this had me so mad after in binged the whole series in a day that I had to write this just to clear my mind.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Seanvcxx
    Jul 27, 2020
    4

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Super confusing....

    It was hard enough to pay attention the whole series because of the switching of timelines consistently. Then the last episode came, and I actually thought I missed something because it was so hard to follow. Random characters just pop up. Then the final moments are genuinely to the core disappointing. Meaning, don’t expect a great ending to this story. It’s more of a blah type ending. Makes you wish you could refund your time you invested into it.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Ari Ya
    Jul 26, 2020
    4

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Felt Unresolved and Overlong

    A few things that dampened the experience:1. As with most Wondery productions, the theme music is too loud and never fits the genre. I always find it jarring and louder than the content.2. It was a dramatized documentary, with the two head writers reading the script, but there was no clarity about why one spoke at one time or the other. It was a turn taking of sorts.3. *spoiler* History buffs know the murder is unsolved, yet he final episode takes a spin into two unconnected characters in different time periods and after lots of backstory there’s supposed to be this big aha moment that made no sense to me and was very unclear. It left me feeling like I spent all this time with this podcast and there wasn’t a real ending. In fact, if it really was the person with the death bed confession, where were they throughout the first 5 episodes? How could so much time be spent on other suspects just to cut the story off that way. It could have been done differently.Less drama, one narrator, and an ending that doesn’t feel so confusing would have made it four stars.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    MAYOSF
    Jul 10, 2020
    4

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    This one fell short for me

    I really wanted to like this, I love everything Wondery puts out! But this one never picked up.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    roosterfreak
    Jul 9, 2020
    8

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Solid

    Super solid. Nothing too special but a good listen

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    fishr5
    Jul 8, 2020
    4

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Hard to Follow

    There’s a man and woman who tell the story but they share characters and it’s hard to follow. It’s like you need a visual chart of who’s who in order to follow.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    pumatamer
    Jul 7, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Love this podcast!

    This podcast is so entertaining and I love hearing the about this particular crime. The time period, the language, the “glamour” of old Hollywood. I can’t wait to find out who the killer is!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    cox unhappy customer
    Jul 7, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Fantastic Show!

    I am so impressed with not only the storyline but all the history, details & background we’re given into each character! I don’t want this to end!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ???!???!???!
    Jul 7, 2020
    2

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Murder in Hollywood

    Looking for episodes 5 &6...where are they?

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Mildre's Marie
    Jul 6, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Highly entertaining

    Of course they take the liberty to embellish the story and setting, but it is still based on historical facts however loosely. I don’t mind, as the end result is an enjoyable listen.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    No more hate no more uber
    Jul 6, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Phenomenal

    Engaging story, creative storytelling

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    venusxiiv
    Jul 6, 2020
    2

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    ?

    Where are the remaining episodes??

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Fit2u
    Jul 5, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Scandal at its finest!

    Absolutely enthralling! I couldn’t stop listening! So well written. I felt like I was a bystander watching the scenes unfold right in front of me. Can’t wait for the next episode!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    SariJJ
    Jun 20, 2020
    6

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Great podcast, terrible ads

    I wish I could give this a five star. The Podcast is terrific. The story is compelling and the hosts are a joy to listen to. I’m not new to podcast; I get they have ads, but this one has so many that they break the pacing. This will keep me from listening to more by the same creators.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    mzc_0831
    Jun 19, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Gripping!

    The narrations are perfection! Amazing podcast. Another favorite from Wondery!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Twiner78
    Jun 19, 2020
    4

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Story Free

    This would be a great hour long podcast if it were not for the 40 minutes of commercials!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    MelissaBoas
    Jun 19, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Murder in Hollywoodland

    Binge-worthy podcast

    I usually hate any type of dramatization in a true crime podcast, but it’s done well

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
40 Episodes 1.37k Ratings First Aired: Jun 3, 2020

It's February 2nd 1922, and all of Hollywood is about to wake up and learn that William Desmond Taylor, the most famous film director in town, was murdered in his home last night. The investigation will shine a light on some of Hollywood's most scandalous affairs, backroom deals, and underground drug dens. This real life Murder Mystery is one of the most iconic "whodunnit" cases of the 20th century that will leave you guessing and second guessing who killed William Desmond Taylor for weeks to come. Co-hosted by Tracy Pattin & James Remar

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
40 Episodes 1.37k Ratings First Aired: Jun 3, 2020

It's February 2nd 1922, and all of Hollywood is about to wake up and learn that William Desmond Taylor, the most famous film director in town, was murdered in his home last night. The investigation will shine a light on some of Hollywood's most scandalous affairs, backroom deals, and underground drug dens. This real life Murder Mystery is one of the most iconic "whodunnit" cases of the 20th century that will leave you guessing and second guessing who killed William Desmond Taylor for weeks to come. Co-hosted by Tracy Pattin & James Remar

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
0:00 0:00