twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    vbrown1804
    Apr 27, 2021
    2

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    So Obviously Biased

    Would have been way more interesting if they had stopped to even consider a side of the story that wasnt "Suzanne is a raging psycopath"-- there were moments so ridiculously dramatized and biased I couldn't help but laugh... not exactly a thorough storytelling

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Doctor H
    Apr 26, 2021
    2

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    A big miss for Wondery

    I can’t finish this podcast. I tried. The story is just not interesting

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jules517
    Apr 26, 2021
    2

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Not if you like to be entertained or educated

    I don’t expect everything to be This American Life or Serial but this was a horrible waste of time. Unlike some people, I didn’t find the voice acting or narration to be so annoying that I couldn’t appreciate the story. But there is no story, nothing to learn, no interesting anything so the whole thing is just a waste. Don’t bother.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    bedritz
    Apr 24, 2021
    4

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    The voice of dorthy

    I almost stop listening because it was so bad! Was this on Purpose or does she really talk with such a monotone weird voice. I was disappointed in The end there was no real conclusion. But I pushed through and listened, it was entertaining once you got Past the voice.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Kjdemorest
    Apr 23, 2021
    2

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    The title of the podcast makes sense

    These women *hate* men. It’s embarrassing to listen to - as in, I’m embarrassed on their behalf for the things coming out of their mouths. Too many opinions. Not enough research.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Mikan1031
    Apr 22, 2021
    10

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Excellent Show

    I enjoyed the Manslaughter podcast series. The characters are all very unique, and the story is really fascinating.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Flachwhat?
    Apr 22, 2021
    4

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Wow the melodrama

    Judt couldn’t listen anymore. The voice of the woman who is telling the story about her uncle is just embarrassing. She tries to make everything sound like it’s significant and in doing so makes the whole thing sound like satire. Like when someone whispers and casts meaningful looks, but their reading a grocery list. She emphasizes so many details that are not meaningful. Like, who cares if there are pillows ok the bed or if it reclines. No one. So why talk about it like it’s a noteworthy detail on the case. Her need to dramatize everything really diminishes the story.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    mikey123477228
    Apr 21, 2021
    4

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    So bad.

    Boring. Voice acting is horrific. Don’t listen.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    NikkiChandler22
    Apr 21, 2021
    2

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Episode 6

    Episode 6 ruined it for me. The niece, Dorothy, just needs to pin it on Suzanne and/or needs this to keep her busy and make money. Too much speculation and very little actual evidence. Dorothy should have left them alone. Kind of sad considering the destruction of the family over the years.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    jgs9455
    Apr 21, 2021
    2

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Incoherent mess

    This podcast is a mess! The story is unorganized, rambling, and all over the place. Did they find any facts? Did they come to any conclusions? The narrators voice was annoying and even worse when she does the ads. I normally like Wondery podcasts but avoid this one.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Mori's Mum
    Apr 21, 2021
    2

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    I have never wanted to give zero stars before.

    The production quality is high but in a way this makes it worse because it adds an air of undeserved legitimacy to one of the most irresponsible podcasts I’ve ever listened to. I have to wonder how Wondery thought this was a good idea. We essentially listen to allegations and speculation with absolutely no proof presented as fact by the protagonist. The narrator might occasionally list some disclaimers that help wondery legally but ultimately that’s just BS. The protagonist is allowed to even present her completely imagined scenario of how the death - she keeps calling it a murder, it was not a murder it was manslaughter under the law and there’s no evidence it was anything but - occurred. I honestly think this should be removed. Considering how hard it is for women to have our allegations of abuse taken seriously this is just egregious. I’ve never bothered to write a review for a podcast I disliked before however this one is so egregious and just dangerous I’ve bothered. Listen if you like but listen critically. Ironically the person who comes off worst is the protagonist.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Marimartrece
    Apr 20, 2021
    6

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Molly Peterson Pronunciations

    Molly— what is this passive aggressive insistence on mispronouncing Oregon? The residents and actors all say Ore-gun but you repeatedly insist on saying Ore-gone. Why? Why would you know better than all the townspeople and everyone in the state of Oregon?

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Tanz4151
    Apr 18, 2021
    2

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Unbearable

    Dorothys voice is horrible. Its her speculation of her life time obsession of losing her ‘Uncle Verny’. Cringe. Tried to stick with it bit couldn’t, its just her opinions.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    JRod7345
    Apr 17, 2021
    2

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Don’t Waste Your Time

    I waited for the final episode to write my review. I believe my title says it all. This was a “what if” kind of narrative. Many of the theories are just that, theories with none based on evidence. Don’t say you haven’t been warned.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    jbeans517
    Apr 17, 2021
    4

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Not worth your time

    I love true crime when the story is told in a way that presents the facts of the case and discusses how the story ends. I don’t like shows or podcasts that are full of personal opinions, have a lot of extra “fluff” and present the information in a biased way. Unfortunately, this podcast is the latter. This could have been summed up in one episode. I actually dreaded listening to the last episode, but I hate quitting mid-story. Also, the voices on this podcast are just not pleasant. And if there was one more Madison Reed advertisement with Dorothy, I might pull all my hair out.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    BackToYpsi
    Apr 17, 2021
    2

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Horribly One-Sides

    The story should have never been told by someone this close to the incident. There was a bias that was clear. The narration was monotone and just not well done I would avoid this series.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    drctx.rn
    Apr 16, 2021
    2

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Major miss for Wondery

    I’m a huge fan of Wondery, but this series is a hot mess. It’s disjointed and confusing, nearly impossible to follow, and often contradictory. It’s almost entirely from the perspective of one family member of the deceased (she even reads the ads), with no actual facts offered. Story lines are introduced, teased, and then dropped entirely. In the final episodes, it strains the limits of journalistic integrity with long segments of “and then maybe this happened” that easily cross over from shoddy journalism to pure libel.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    MplsLex
    Apr 16, 2021
    4

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    A “miss” from usually on-point Wondery

    This was difficult to listen to and I had to give up. Dorothy’s narration sounds like she is reading a cheesy D-list movie script. It actually made me feel uncomfortable. The first episode was compelling, it lost me after that. I kept trying to finish it but just can’t. I’m agreeing with others that it feels like an angry family member complaining. This is the first wondery podcast that I have zero interest in finishing.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    bored housekeeper
    Apr 16, 2021
    4

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Voice Acting

    I can’t listen to this. If you’re ok with voice acting, poor voice acting, maybe you can. If “Dorothy” continues to tell this story every episode, it might ruin the whole thing. I’m quitting, 10 minutes into the first episode.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Ender man
    Apr 16, 2021
    8

    reviewed: MANslaughter

    Good but strange

    The storytelling is great, the story is interesting, but the fact that Vernon’s (the victims) niece is one of the storytellers. She doesn’t have the greatest speaking for a podcast host which is fine… but then she does an ad read for Madison Reed and it’s super weird. Overall, very good - if not a bit strange.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
13 Episodes 1.29k Ratings First Aired: Feb 25, 2021

MANslaughter tells intertwining stories about how one gunshot on a cold Wisconsin night in 1970 dramatically changed multiple lives. A bullet brutally tore through decorated law enforcement veteran LaVerne Stordock. Decades later, his niece, Dorothy Marcic, transformed herself into an amateur detective in a quest for truth and closure about that night. At the center of Dorothy’s investigation is Suzanne Brandon, LaVerne’s second wife, who confessed to the shooting -- and who Dorothy believes completely escaped justice. As it follows Dorothy’s discoveries, MANslaughter explores questions around the psychology of crime, the ways women are made responsible in families, and the lasting impact of trauma.A final encounter between Suzanne and Dorothy reveals a complex connection that even that gunshot cannot shatter. MANslaughter is based on the book, With One Shot by Dorothy Marcic.

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
13 Episodes 1.29k Ratings First Aired: Feb 25, 2021

MANslaughter tells intertwining stories about how one gunshot on a cold Wisconsin night in 1970 dramatically changed multiple lives. A bullet brutally tore through decorated law enforcement veteran LaVerne Stordock. Decades later, his niece, Dorothy Marcic, transformed herself into an amateur detective in a quest for truth and closure about that night. At the center of Dorothy’s investigation is Suzanne Brandon, LaVerne’s second wife, who confessed to the shooting -- and who Dorothy believes completely escaped justice. As it follows Dorothy’s discoveries, MANslaughter explores questions around the psychology of crime, the ways women are made responsible in families, and the lasting impact of trauma.A final encounter between Suzanne and Dorothy reveals a complex connection that even that gunshot cannot shatter. MANslaughter is based on the book, With One Shot by Dorothy Marcic.

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
0:00 0:00