twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    Team Tracy
    Aug 2, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Bangkok underworld- human sex trafficker

    He says he knew that he was doing human sex trafficking and never going to see these girls again AND a thousand bucks for each trip- with no regrets. Horrible human being- sad he was caught for drugs and not for ruining lives. Wonder how life turned out for those girls. He should have died in prison.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Fluffster Normalpaws
    Apr 9, 2021
    8

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Argentina’s a Cliffhanger

    Escape from Argentina ends in a total cliffhanger. I Googled the story to find out the latest update. This show aired after developments in the story. Would make a much better ending to wrap it up, as far as what happened

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Brooke Walden
    Mar 25, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Backstabbed I’m Thailand

    This was so sickening to hear Lisa laugh about everything she did to Kim. She was not sorry. What a disgusting human being. Love this podcast on a positive note

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    get some common sense
    Feb 19, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    The ignorance

    privileged people traveling to third world countries.... what do you expect. Do you walk into a lions den and expect to pet a lion?

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Zilla816
    Feb 18, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Come back!!!

    I’ve listened to every episode and now I’m freaked out that I missed something. Are you coming back with more episodes? 😊

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    cmisuc
    Feb 11, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Locked up Abroad

    Love your stories! Excellent!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Andie323
    Jan 17, 2021
    6

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    I want to like it more than I do

    I truly do. The concept is really compelling. But each episode seems less and less produced. Like explained in other reviews, I understand these stories come from a television show. But instead of just playing random sound bites from the show, how about presenting the information in a new way? About the elementary producing, all of the sudden the ads are just playing in what seems to be the middle of a sentence or thought. I was sure it was an editing mistake but.... it happened again this week. In conclusion, I’m still hanging in by a thread. Wondery can do so Much better!!!!!!!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    echolocution
    Jan 16, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    No context

    The Argentina episode is great and then leaves you hanging without any contextual framing. Many episodes have gaping narrative holes - obvious questions that go unanswered. I’ve lost my patience with this series. I’ve let it disappoint so many times. The stories are compelling but nearly always leave you scratching your head at the end about some key detail.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    MinnesotanPodcaster
    Jan 11, 2021
    6

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Interesting, but Repetitive

    Interesting stories, but so many of them are the exact same story. I honestly couldn’t tell you the difference between most of the stories. Usually they involve some person who “had no idea what they were getting into” when they decide to become a drug smuggler.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Micah666blahblahblah
    Jan 10, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    On this episode of Locked Up Abroad:

    White person knowingly commits felony in another country, shocked when faced with consequences!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Raemi95
    Dec 16, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    You’re back!

    SOOOOO HAPPY you’re back! I missed you!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    traveler-103
    Dec 16, 2020
    10

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Love this podcast

    I love love love this podcast! Really well done and enjoyable to listen to. I can’t believe how many people are smuggling drugs! And traveling in dangerous jungles! The only thing I’m not a fan of is how easily some of the rich, privileged people get off the hook for some serious crimes. But I’m gonna keep listening!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Alagrancosa
    Dec 15, 2020
    2

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Low effort tv show to podcast

    Much left untold..abrupt ending to “escape from Argentina” is the best example of this

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ackur
    Dec 9, 2020
    2

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Always details missing...

    Listen, I know these come from a show so not everything is easy to translate to a podcast, however, it seems like you don’t even try! Background information and important details are always missing so these are often disjointed and boring. Get it together!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    MeRoLiIn
    Nov 25, 2020
    8

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Very interested in the stories BUT...

    I dislike how the intro gives the whole story away (way to long), and wish that more time was spent on when they were actually “locked up abroad” like the title. The editing has a lot to be desired but the topics are super interesting. I keep listening but am rarely satisfied that I got the complete story.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    phildeb86
    Nov 18, 2020
    6

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Good show but...

    I like this TV show and the podcast is pretty good (seems like it is padded to make it longer), but why does the introduction give all the story away?

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    DJW6356
    Oct 27, 2020
    6

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Better on TV

    The podcast version leaves a lot to be desired. Most episodes don’t even tell about their experience in court or jail. If they do it’s nothing more than just a general “it was bad.” Better on TV, but worth a listen if you’re needing a podcast.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    MerritG
    Sep 29, 2020
    6

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Hasidic king of coke

    It was all right but not great. The sound editing was super obvious.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    SirSpinWells
    Sep 22, 2020
    8

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Great podcast content w/ abrupt ending (HORRIBLE AD)

    I absolutely love the content. I agree with the other review that they end abruptly though. The story is 100% about what lead up to the crime or kidnapping, then time while in captivity. Zero information about how they were rescued or whatever. With all that being said I absolutely DESPISE the advertisements. The one about hair coloring especially. To here Jim Clemente comment about how lush and smooth his co-workers hair color is painful. Its by far the worst advertisement I've heard on a podcast. I understand they need funding but.... Really. Lol

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jenn Wolfe
    Sep 15, 2020
    2

    reviewed: Locked Up Abroad

    Privilege is just the best!

    I listened to quite a few episodes a while back, and I’ll admit they were good stories. But I noticed a disturbing throughline, namely that people largely from the US and Europe who commit ACTUAL crimes in other countries think they have every f’ing right to not be punished for said crimes. A lot of the subjects are hardly poor innocent victims here. They are high on their privilege, if not in addition to the DRUGS THEY WERE TRANSPORTING. Give me a freaking break.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
41 Episodes 1.47k Ratings First Aired: Jun 23, 2017 🇺🇸

What does it feel like in the split second when you realize you're about to be locked up in a foreign country - possibly for life? In Locked Up Abroad, host Jim Clemente (Real Crime Profile) brings you first hand accounts from people who lived this nightmare, starting with Billy Hayes, subject of the Oliver Stone movie Midnight Express. A riveting, immersive audio adaptation of the hit TV series by the National Geographic Channel. From Istanbul to Bali to Sao Paulo, you'll hear what it's like to be locked up abroad. This show is moving to Luminary! For more, go to LuminaryPodcasts.com.

Published by

People

41 Episodes 1.47k Ratings First Aired: Jun 23, 2017 🇺🇸

What does it feel like in the split second when you realize you're about to be locked up in a foreign country - possibly for life? In Locked Up Abroad, host Jim Clemente (Real Crime Profile) brings you first hand accounts from people who lived this nightmare, starting with Billy Hayes, subject of the Oliver Stone movie Midnight Express. A riveting, immersive audio adaptation of the hit TV series by the National Geographic Channel. From Istanbul to Bali to Sao Paulo, you'll hear what it's like to be locked up abroad. This show is moving to Luminary! For more, go to LuminaryPodcasts.com.

Published by

People

0:00 0:00