twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    Mock English
    Jul 11, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Ohh I love words!

    Like the show, very informative. Hilarious when John accidentally goes into a mocking, British accent while speaking with an English guest (dictionary episode).

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    tall6677
    Jul 11, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Don’t Lose the Songs!

    Great podcast—wholly engaging. John, do NOT listen to people who complain about the music! Your taste is great and I learn about musicals as I learn about language.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    pokyrev
    Jun 12, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    I Know-uh!!

    I’ve heard plenty of women add ‘uh!’ to words for emphasis. Also, some Christian preachers. “Jesus-uh!!”

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    dswunsch
    Jun 10, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Pet peeves

    John you hit on one of my pet peeves with “irreguardless” and then offered up several other examples of double negatives that don’t typically raise my ire - exposing my own hypocrisy. Thank you, that was entertaining and educational!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Isaiah Bryant
    Jun 3, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Awesome!

    Awesome podcast. John McWorther is a knowledgeable person and so funny that it makes me laugh on what he says. He gives me the information I don’t forget.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    brainslikepickles
    Jun 2, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Love this show

    Just about the last intelligent thing left on Slate.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    kochanie biskop
    May 28, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Was good... until it become a show tunes podcast

    Discovered this show late and really loved it, from the original hosts to the current one... at least until he started taking *every* opportunity to play music from musicals. I’m halfway through 2018 and considering abandoning it as it has become so annoying.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    CD0103
    May 20, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Just delightful

    Not only educational about all things language, but listening to host John McWhorter just puts you in a good mood. He’s funny, makes complex concepts accessible, and an amazing educator and podcast host. Some people have the knack for podcasting, some don’t; John is the exemplary model for how to podcast right.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Direct but kind
    May 16, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Excellent Host

    John McWhorter just gets better and better. He’s authentic, knowledgeable and funny. I have a total nerd crush on him!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jake Ticknor
    May 10, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Brain crack for nerds…..like me

    I’ve read nearly all of John’s books and heard him on other podcasts but only today found out he has his own podcast….and couldn’t be more pleased to find his discussions of these topics are every bit as interesting as his writings….I’d read anything John writes. And now listen to anything he says….

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    junior chomsky
    Apr 24, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Host John McWhoter is amazing!!!

    The topics, no matter how boring they may seem at first, are always made interesting by the host John McWhoter. He takes seemingly mundane observations and expands and digs into them so that by the end of the podcast I am blown away. Love it.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    in.n.y.c
    Apr 18, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Police apologist

    I was ready to skip past the long commercials and ego-stroking the host engages in, but the views and arguments he puts into the public sphere on current events are disingenuous, demonstrably false, and absurd on their face. Those views are separate from the linguistics he discusses on the podcast but I cannot support even the podcast of someone so obviously dishonest and, frankly, blind to reality. He appears to believe that cops generally operate without racial bias in the US and he regularly makes excuses for police misconduct....

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    danceofthe7veils
    Apr 14, 2021
    6

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Good podcast, but...

    I’m finding John very unappealing on social media, and therefore have stopped enjoying the podcast too. But before that, I found it an enjoyable presentation.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    South Florida Traveller
    Mar 31, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Entertaining and instructive

    This is a top five podcast inclusive of all genres, IMO. Consistently rich in content, funny and entertaining, the deep preparation for each episode is evident. Lots of ‘unknown unknowns’ out there as relates to the origins and uses of language...As a Pittsburgh ex pat, I happened across, and present for your consideration, a new entry, circa 2020, into the Pittsburghese lexicon: CORNTINE (aka “quarantine”).

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    wo ai xidada
    Mar 17, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Mostly air

    Unfollowed because excessive commercials on top of pointless musical interludes meant i was fast forwarding through half of every episode. Bordering on unlistenable

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Curious Mayhem
    Feb 6, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Best linguistics podcast

    And one of the best that I've discovered, period. Having read McWhorter since the 1990s and read his more recent work, I was delighted to stumble into this Slate offering. Some of us just can't get enough of Dr. McWhorter's insights and knowledge, and, for me, that's after listening to three of his online courses!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    JJSdMel
    Feb 4, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Serendipitous Find

    I recently happened upon this podcast and had such a great time listening. I’m in my 60s, the daughter & granddaughter of librarians, and words were always used correctly and literally as I was growing up. John’s lighthearted and delightful style brought me back to childhood discussions of books and words. Add in his use of obscure musical choices sprinkled throughout and I find myself smiling from ear to ear!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Willie Nelson
    Jan 26, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Maybe you could do another show of JUST music?

    ...that way the people that love the music can still get it. It makes me sad I rarely listen anymore because I just don’t have the patience for ads AND that awful music.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    thanoss99
    Jan 24, 2021
    8

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Great podcast! However...

    I love the podcast. Each new episode is interesting and the music and audio clips always bring something additional. However, I’m a Slate Plus member which means I’m paying for no commercials, yet each new episode I keep hearing an advertisement to join Slate Plus. Shouldn’t this be removed???

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    27jennifers
    Jan 24, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Lexicon Valley

    Great Teacher

    John McWhorter is such an engaging teacher, he makes this subject matter fascinating. I love what a quirky, nerdy oddball he is, and hope that he never stops playing showtunes and going on tangents. I always learn something new with every episode!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
244 Episodes 2.91k Ratings First Aired: Feb 6, 2012 🇺🇸

Lexicon Valley is a show about language, from pet peeves, syntax, and etymology to neurolinguistics and the death of languages. Hosted by linguist John McWhorter.

Published by

People

Tagged with

Educational
244 Episodes 2.91k Ratings First Aired: Feb 6, 2012 🇺🇸

Lexicon Valley is a show about language, from pet peeves, syntax, and etymology to neurolinguistics and the death of languages. Hosted by linguist John McWhorter.

Published by

People

Tagged with

Educational
0:00 0:00