twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    thought provoking, fresh perspective!

    This is a great philosophy podcast and something we need more than ever in our highly partisan society! I love the thematic and story based approach. My favourite episode so far is 'Chamber of Truth', like I said it is very topical with the election coming up, I really recommend

    1
    Label
    Knickknock
    Sep 28
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Smart, entertaining, diverse

    This is my new favorite podcast. The stories are highly relevant, thoughtful, engaging and cover a range of topics. I am about halfway through the previous episodes and have thoroughly enjoyed every one so far.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ___lauren----
    May 2
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    One of the best podcasts out there

    I am SO excited for this season! I adore this show. A show that teaches you complex philosophical arguments, without talking down to you, and also while yelling entertaining stories. It makes me think deeply about issues I encounter in daily life - and it helps me understand other people’s arguments too, even those I disagree with politically. The sound editing is also great, and I love Barry Lam’s voice - in additional to all of the insightful questions he brings us. I wish I was a student in one of Professor Lam’s classes, after every episode I just want to keep discussing. I can’t recommend Hi-Phi Nation enough

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Rmm mm
    Feb 9
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Love this show - keep it coming!

    Barry, as a Vassar grad and philosophy major (say hi to Prof Church for me) I can’t tell you awesome it is to have a podcast like this coming out of Poughkeepsie. It’s great storytelling and you find great entry points into philosophical issues, which you explore wonderfully. So why nothing new since June? Keep it coming!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Dawg14
    Jul 18, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    wonderfully produced

    Great for the culture: Extremely well produced, with both the pro credentials behind it and the audience-friendly hook. Yay Barry! Yay public philosophy!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    LauraOleson
    Jun 14, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Love it!!

    Hands down my favorite podcast. I love the narrative style and Hi-Phi Nation always gets me thinking. Thank you so much!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    spacebag
    Jun 14, 2019
    6

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Pretty good

    Not my favorite. Kinda wish it was a little deeper but over all pretty good.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Dave Hamilton
    Jun 13, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Relevant philosophy

    What a great way they’ve found to make philosophy relatable. Kudos!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Joeb3028
    May 15, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Good podcast

    “For women Only” is one of the better more well put together podcasts. I have been listening to Slates’ Waves and Gabfest for over a decade and and half. This podcast is an example of the amazing uptick that Slate has taken in bringing excellent content to their lineup.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    rarer.avis
    May 8, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    They get it.

    If, in consuming your media, you’ve ever felt frustrated that they didn’t go *there*—you know, deeper, or more broadly, or more specifically... like, yeah, but *now* what? What are the implications of *that*? Or but where did *that* idea come from and what does *that* portend?—your philosophical and practical frustrations are answered here.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    redcat73
    Apr 20, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Great

    Awesome Podcast!!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    CoconutD
    Mar 19, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Always interesting

    The brilliant concept for this podcast, exploring topics in philosophy through compelling storytelling, meets fantastic execution. One of my favorite podcasts.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jager DeBrün
    Mar 9, 2019
    4

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Interesting but intellectually subversive

    If you enjoy having various facts and truths about a topic presented to you in a manner flavored with bias and limited perspectives that more greatly serve the thinly veiled agenda than your intellectual development, then go no further. Counterpoints are presented poorly and only serve to trick you into a false sense that you are getting perspectives on both sides of the topic while the undertow is trying to persuade you into conforming to the narrator’s chosen stance. Well produced with a charming narrator.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Elphilipe
    Feb 10, 2019
    2

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Hack philosophy

    After a few episodes, I realized this is not for anyone very thoughtful. Listen to “VERY BAD WIZARDS” if you want real debate and not this drivel. What broke me was the episode that was overly sympathetic to the plight of volunteer US military personnel. In the episode about the wishes of the dead affecting the living, the professor of philosophy made a comparison that was fundamentally inaccurate to drive home a point. I had high hopes.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    this nickbane taken 2018
    Feb 4, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Brilliant and entertaining

    I put this podcast in the same league as 99% invisible, song exploder, flash forward, the allusionist, dirty words, and zig zag (to name a few).

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Wizard of Noodles
    Jan 26, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Humanity needs more of this

    Fantastic. This is out of the box thinking that has really challenged my perceptions about the nature of human cognition and of “truth.” The “Be a Man” episode about the ways in which traditional male and female roles/expectations harms boys and men has been useful in my practice as a psychiatrist who primarily treats active duty service members with post-traumatic stress injuries, as have been the episodes about the morality of war. I have directed my patients to these podcasts as they work to transform their relationships with their traumatic experiences.The “Soul and Its Survival” episode blew my mind-I actually yelled out, “What?!” while listening to it by myself on a bike ride. Please keep up the excellent work—this kind of thinking and teaching gives me hope that humanity may continue to evolve its consciousness enough and in time to prevent its own extinction.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Em0102
    Jan 19, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    THANK GOODNESS YOURE BACK !!!!!!

    I have missed this podcast so so so much. Can’t wait to hear the new season. Seeing this promo made my day, maybe even entire 2019

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ersmed
    Jan 8, 2019
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Great Philosophy Podcast,

    I doubt I could be as eloquent at most the prior ratings. I only recently found this podcast and as a lover and daily listener of Philosophy Podcasts, this is one of my top 5 favorite podcasts.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Lucasmill
    Nov 2, 2018
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Well produced and thought provoking

    Hi-phi Nation is my favourite podcast find of 2018. The ideas presented are thought provoking and relevant. The story driven format bring the ideas to life. The show has improved my understanding opened my mind. Great work!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    dcmarty
    Sep 23, 2018
    10

    reviewed: Hi-Phi Nation

    Waiting for season three

    I recently discovered this show (via Very Bad Wizards) and really enjoy it. I’m looking forward to the start of season three in January 2019. As an individual listener, I’m spreading the word to all and hope the podcast is a big success.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
46 Episodes 411 Ratings First Aired: Dec 24, 2016

Hi-Phi Nation is philosophy in story-form, integrating narrative journalism with big ideas. We look at stories from everyday life, law, science, popular culture, and strange corners of human experiences that raise thought-provoking questions about things like justice, knowledge, the self, morality, and existence. We then seek answers with the help of academics and philosophers. The show is produced and hosted by Barry Lam of Vassar College.

Published by

People

Tagged with

Philosophy
46 Episodes 411 Ratings First Aired: Dec 24, 2016

Hi-Phi Nation is philosophy in story-form, integrating narrative journalism with big ideas. We look at stories from everyday life, law, science, popular culture, and strange corners of human experiences that raise thought-provoking questions about things like justice, knowledge, the self, morality, and existence. We then seek answers with the help of academics and philosophers. The show is produced and hosted by Barry Lam of Vassar College.

Published by

People

Tagged with

Philosophy
0:00 0:00