twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    ElissaBissa
    Feb 7
    10

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Powerful storytelling

    This was powerful journalism about a story that I needed to hear. I’m especially grateful for the focus on responsible practices in the self-help industry. James Arthur Ray may not have been a cult leader per se, but we need to discuss the manipulation tactics he utilized that show up in many abusive authority figures. Grateful for what I learned and considered from listening to this show.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ReneeL.
    Jan 10
    8

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Episode 5 still missing

    Ep 8 is playing instead of 5 - irritating.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    wendybird777
    Jan 2
    10

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Excellent

    Another great podcast from Wondery

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Ang mr
    Dec 31, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Wondery level amazing

    As always. Great story, incredible investigating

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    PRL329
    Dec 14, 2021
    6

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Guru

    Good story. But I didn’t get to hear Episode 5 because it plays as Episode 8. Sort of ruined it for me.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Gnvdylfdr58932866
    Dec 8, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Enthralling and important

    Not only is this podcast so informative, but it also completely sucked me in.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ricketybridge891
    Dec 4, 2021
    8

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Missing episode

    Great show but hey, Wondery, episode 8 plays in place of episode 5. Please fix it.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    nixfinity
    Nov 29, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Dried Out Brain or Dumb Folks

    Nip portrays himself as some kind of athlete, and asserted that drinking water during practice while growing up (Mormon?) is viewed as weak. If such is the case, perhaps his dried up brain led him to be a top selling pimp for Keith, while Sarah turned a blind eye selling this nonsense to vulnerable women. Listeners want to know where you stand in regards to Trumps lies, Covid vaccination conspiracies, etc. before determining whether to listen to information from two cult nuts seriously and responsibly (these cult members who recruited and brainwashed newbies for financial gain, and allegedly didn’t partake in sex while members of a “sex” cult

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    A sad student
    Nov 17, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    so many ads

    an ad literally every 5 minutes! outrageous.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Lotus Sake
    Nov 13, 2021
    8

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Missing info: “mind control and abuse of power”

    This pod tells the story we’ll bug what’s missing is the mind manipulation, coercive control and indoctrination tactics that JR used which caused people to ignore their own survival instincts and caused some to die. In my opinion the topic of indoctrination needs to be understood and the sinister things that can be done by a charismatic leader who knows how to use indoctrination and coercion to control people. There is also no mention here of narcissism and narcissistic abuse of power - which is key to understanding a dangerous leader like Ray. Also there seems to be a hesitancy to call it a cult. But cults take your power, make you question your own critical thinking and for the benefit of the leader. So how is this not a cult? It’s not an insult, and maybe that’s why people are afraid to call it a cult.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    USA Mknitter
    Sep 17, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Thanks for exposing a fake

    Appreciated hearing a lot about this person who was highly recommended by an influential person without further investigation into who he really was, and who later exposed as a fraud. He was really an ordinary person like me who made every attempt to fleece gullible persons, without any conscience.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Willis12233455
    Aug 9, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Frustrated

    Not necessarily the fault of the podcast, but it’s super frustrating that we now have to pay extra to listen to some podcasts. Apple continues to nickel and dime us. I was unable to finish the series because the trial ended and I will not pay for it.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    oldjohnhall
    Jul 20, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Lol is this journalism or drama or what

    Nvm it’s catnip for the overwrought upper middle class horny for validation

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    the_log_lady_
    Jul 15, 2021
    8

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Loved but wished there was more content and context

    Loved this podcast. Great subject and super interesting however I do wish that they had more episodes that explored what was and is going on and discussed more people that are doing similar things and that there are very few laws or people fighting for new laws in the context of this mentor situation. I hope that they think about revisiting this and add some more episodes to help people better understand the situation and how everyday people get tangled up with these types of people. It’s a super interesting subject that shows how many people truly fall victim to charismatic people like this man. Unfortunately I think when only a small amount of people are shown in something like this people always think I wouldn’t never be like that when in actuality most people when caught in the right moment could fall victim to this type of person.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Sozz2
    May 29, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Compelling and Crazy story

    Hey Matt, I really enjoyed this crazy and compelling story about James Earl Ray and the way that you told it. I couldn’t wait to hear each new episode. Scary how much certain people can hold influence and control over other human beings like that. Congrats on the gig with Wondery and Great work on this podcast! Give a shout to Lindsey Graham for me, I also LOVED his wicked game podcast. #NAforlife. 😉

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    adiblaas
    Feb 23, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Incredible

    Compelling stuff

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    kenziekittenn
    Feb 2, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    They Did It Again

    Wonders never disappoints

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    habanero_sauce
    Jan 22, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    A new favorite

    This is a riveting and crucially important story to tell, and it was done so well. I disagree that it was drawn out- I think the depth of detail was really necessary. People need to know about this not just in the case of James Ray, but so many others doing similar harm in the new-age world (even though the new-age world isn’t to inherently bad, this sort of thing has become an epidemic.)

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Sky Listner
    Jan 12, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Today’s Reality

    Unfortunately this has become today’s reality. I have So Many “acquaintances” who have jumped on the Wellness, Mindfulness, Spiritual bandwagon. All just like Amway presenters. I had a Friend who was involved with Sundance movie premier “Secret”, wanted me to host a premier party for cast, crew, etc at my home. Gave me a copy of the movie, book but couldn’t tell me about it because it was a “Big Secret” and the answer to all. Never watched the movie, thought it was B. S. Then just as now. People wake up! These Cults can cost you your lives.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Plik76
    Dec 31, 2020
    4

    reviewed: Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment

    Does every episode need to sound like a Dateline mystery?

    Wondery my podcasts have the most overwrought narration and this one is no different. It’s so campy and for a subject this serious, it is extremely distracting. Let the story tell itself without the ridiculous embellishment

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
38 Episodes 7.41k Ratings First Aired: Jun 16, 2020

When we face challenges in life, we seek answers from people we believe can help us. When tragedy strikes an exclusive retreat with a self-help superstar, many people are left to wonder: how far is too far? James Arthur Ray was an Oprah-endorsed self-help teacher who achieved fame, fortune, and influence. But friends and family members of his followers questioned his unorthodox methods, and tried to stop him. From Wondery, the makers of “Dirty John,” “Dr. Death,” and “The Shrink Next Door,” comes a story about the dark side of enlightenment. Hosted by journalist Matt Stroud. New episodes will come out weekly.

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
38 Episodes 7.41k Ratings First Aired: Jun 16, 2020

When we face challenges in life, we seek answers from people we believe can help us. When tragedy strikes an exclusive retreat with a self-help superstar, many people are left to wonder: how far is too far? James Arthur Ray was an Oprah-endorsed self-help teacher who achieved fame, fortune, and influence. But friends and family members of his followers questioned his unorthodox methods, and tried to stop him. From Wondery, the makers of “Dirty John,” “Dr. Death,” and “The Shrink Next Door,” comes a story about the dark side of enlightenment. Hosted by journalist Matt Stroud. New episodes will come out weekly.

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
0:00 0:00