twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    Bowielover3
    Apr 20
    2

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Terra’s voice is awful

    It is SOOO hard to listen to Terra talk. I could not get through episode one. DOES IT GET BETTER? I know she was attacked, and that is tragic and she is an amazing person for fighting off her attacker, but she should NOT be speaking in the podcast. Or at least should have been coached, she comes off as not very bright. Her little baby voice makes it even worse. I am so sorry but it is awful.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    veritylo
    Mar 11
    10

    reviewed: Dirty John

    So frustrating, but riveting

    It really takes all kinds in this world. I felt deep sympathy for Shad and his late mother most of all. It is no wonder Debra turned out the way she did with a mother like Arlene. “The jury’s eyes all filled with tears” made me physically ill. Debra continued the cycle and I did not get the sense she takes any ownership. Very strange group of people. I hope this teaches young women to find value in themselves beyond physical beauty, because when it fades you’ll need a strong foundation for your self-esteem to carry you the latter half of your life.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    MBasile80
    Mar 9
    10

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Hooked

    Great podcast

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    GoodGrief73
    Feb 27
    2

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Dumb, shallow valley girls

    Could not make it through the first episode. Not one sensible human being with thoughts deeper than a puddle or interested in something more than a “blue and cream scheme.” Good grief.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    BanjoGrey
    Nov 2, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Dirty John

    This podcast started my podcast Journey

    Dirty John was my first podcast experience, which rather spoiled me for other podcasts. Because the medium is based on listening, it will by its own nature, appeal more to some individuals. I fell in love with Christopher Goddard’s unique voice and delivery, which reminded me of a hard boiled detective, in an old black and white movie. The music appealed to me so much I waited for each incidence of music. The daughters’ voices rankled until they took me over with great affection. Deborah’s voice tickled my senses. I just listened to the whole series again, and all the extras, plus I saw the Bravo series.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    hot thang1
    Oct 18, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Difficult to listen to because :

    They’re interviewing one daughter who has the most irritating and scathing voice. I could no longer handle it. Plenty of other podcasts to listen to without torturing myself.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Pya3g
    Oct 11, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Dirty John

    All time favorite

    Jaw dropping true story, couldn’t be told any better.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    iloveterra
    Oct 9, 2021
    8

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Sorry terra

    This has nothing to do with the podcast as a whole, so far it’s good, but terra’a voice makes me physically ill ISUEIAUSU This is a joke so I don’t want sound mean but the things she says in the voice she says then with makes me literally tense up Don’t worry tho terra I’m a hater and please just keep it up girlboss Your “s’s” make my ears bleed tho

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Curtismaximus
    Sep 27, 2021
    8

    reviewed: Dirty John

    A good listen

    Great story but quite possibly the worst soundtrack of any media in history. It gets worse with each episode, with the last containing the most terrible song I’ve ever listened to.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Polarbears rule!!
    Sep 24, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Wondery is ruining my podcast experience

    I am a huge fan of podcasts. The first major podcasts I really got into years ago were dirty John and doctor death. Recently I wanted to re-listen to both of these podcasts, and to my dismay I found that I, a loyal podcast fan who has listened to a number of your podcasts beyond these two, no longer have access to my favorite podcasts without paying for them. What was wrong with the ad format?? I genuinely don’t mind podcast ads, as unlike other platforms, the ads aren’t specifically targeted towards me from cookies. Nonetheless, I am disappointed to see that I am no longer able to listen and support you guys. It’s exclusionary to make your podcasts paid, as you have now limited your audience to those who can afford to hear your stories. Wondery please reconsider the subscriber format. A previously loyal fan is incredibly disappointed.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    abedwrn
    Sep 17, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Hard to feel sorry for Debra

    It really seems like Debra is like so many women who have put a man before their children or even common sense. The woman was married 4 times and married this guy after 2 months! I do feel some compassion bc she is a clearly broken and hurting person. The money, the business and the “OC” lifestyle don’t seem to be fulfilling. She clearly can’t set boundaries. I mean even her children treated her like a child. And their voices were annoying lol. It just seems like a delusional rich woman with a history of bad choices making another horrible choice.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    w0rmlover
    Sep 13, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Dirty John

    boring!!!

    i’m a huge fan of investigative podcasts, especially those focusing on crime, being told from the victim’s perspective. because of this, many people i know told me to give this a listen. honestly though, i can’t understand why. this story is so boring to me and the episodes are dragged out and made too long to be interesting at all. i’d recommend another series instead.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    flyhighb
    Aug 19, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Great for a car trip

    So good! Listened to all of it on a road trip recently and the time flew.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Piscesgirl3880
    Aug 15, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Loved it !

    I loved it. I found this after listening to the first wife in auditable. Even thought I knew how the story was gonna end. This was a whole new version from someone else’s life. Thanks !!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    hfjfjgih
    Aug 7, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Dirty John

    👍🏼

    Superb Very nice thank you

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    SolitaireLover57533
    Aug 7, 2021
    6

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Repetitive Storytelling

    Host has a great voice for this…. But the content is strangely structured. He tells the same tidbits over and over again slightly different in multiple episodes. Unsure if it’s a technique or he forgets that he told that part or what. Just seems disorganized.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    pdcstsweetheart
    Jul 15, 2021
    6

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Daughters voices are insufferably annoying

    The story content is good, but difficult to get past the “valley-girl”, “ditsy” voices and pauses “like….as if!”. Really, really irritating.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    kangacan
    Jul 5, 2021
    6

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Well done but….

    It’s so hard to feel sorry for Debra even before she had proof. Then it was just preposterous. I don’t understand any person who cares more about the attention of a man than her own children and family. The children saw every red flag and tried to stop her. She saw every red flag and blew right past it and then believed him after having proof??????? No sounds like the grandmother and Debra are allergic to making smart decisions. It’s not victim blaming to say hey dummy you made some poor decisions. Supporting victims doesn’t look like blind acceptance of every thing they’ve ever done.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    BmxGMA
    Jun 27, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Riveting

    This podcast kept being riveted all the way through. It’s hard to believe that a soul can be on this earth like dirty John is just unbelievable. Kudos to the reporter who did this because he did an excellent job. Thank you for the enjoyment I got out of this not that it was enjoyable but it was so well put together. Pat Crosby

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Cashh33
    Jun 23, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Dirty John

    Finished it in a day!!

    I had to keep listening. This was very good true crime!!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
35 Episodes 41.5k Ratings First Aired: Sep 11, 2017 🇺🇸

Debra Newell is a successful interior designer. She meets John Meehan, a handsome man who seems to check all the boxes: attentive, available, just back from a year in Iraq with Doctors Without Borders. But her family doesn’t like John, and they get entangled in an increasingly complex web of love, deception, forgiveness, denial, and ultimately, survival. Reported and hosted by Christopher Goffard from the L.A. Times.

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
35 Episodes 41.5k Ratings First Aired: Sep 11, 2017 🇺🇸

Debra Newell is a successful interior designer. She meets John Meehan, a handsome man who seems to check all the boxes: attentive, available, just back from a year in Iraq with Doctors Without Borders. But her family doesn’t like John, and they get entangled in an increasingly complex web of love, deception, forgiveness, denial, and ultimately, survival. Reported and hosted by Christopher Goffard from the L.A. Times.

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
0:00 0:00