twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    bdspald
    Oct 26, 2020
    4

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Can’t Understand a Word

    This is a fascinating story, and I was expecting to love it, but I’m 2 episodes in and I can’t listen any more. Half of the content consists of interviews conducted by phone. The audio recordings of these phone calls is so poor, muddled, and full of static and background noise, there are truly full minute stretches where I can’t understand a word of what’s being said, even rewinding and listening again with the playback slowed. It’s most annoying when something is being mumbled and drowned out by random background noise, and then the theme music swells - making it clear that whatever was said was some pivotal plot point. Crazy frustrating. I’m sure this is a great story/great reporting/great podcast- if I could hear half of it.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    antobk27
    Oct 23, 2020
    10

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Appreciate The Investigation

    This is a podcast that has been coming along as the investigation has come a long. The amount of real investigative work and research is incredible and is a great listen. It’s a story to follow surrounding sketchy characters and the occult. A must listen for any True Crime enthusiast.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    DallasCowboyTara
    Oct 21, 2020
    10

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Authenticity

    I love this podcast because it is motivated by passionate and genuine desire to bring closure to one of New Jersey’s most prominent cold cases. It dives into different theories and possibilities, all of which have been proven credible and pure. The mystery behind the death of Jeannette DePalma has held a spot in my New Jersey heart for many years, and I truly believe that Jesse Pollack and Weird NJ creators Mark Moran and Mark Sceurman have gotten closure to justice than anyone else since August 7, 1972.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    abigailnoelleee
    Oct 20, 2020
    10

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    great story

    I discovered this podcast in 2015, it's overall a great story and very binge-worthy. don't be discouraged by the reviews regarding the bad audio quality, I think it adds to the vadility of what was said / what could be fact of what actually happened. I also don’t think that audio is that terrible considering most podcasts these days are being down via streaming and have not had great quality (: i would 100% reccommend this podcast to a friend.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    zeemie11
    Sep 19, 2020
    4

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Ugh no.

    Obnoxious audio quality with no reiteration of what was said by the narrator. The writing of the narration is overkill at times, sound more like a sensationalized tabloid or like you’re reading a paper from a journalism class—you’re just painfully aware of the writing and what you’re listening to instead of being able to get lost in the story. All around, bad: writing, narration, sound, and editing. I stopped halfway through episode three. I no longer cared about what I expect and imagine could be an interesting story. :/ I think having podcasts from authors themselves is almost always a bad idea. It’s a completely different beast than books.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Chumli123
    Sep 4, 2020
    2

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Unlistenable

    How could you come up with the idea for this podcast and then have the WORST audio I’ve ever heard from interviews. Truly unlistenable. Couldn’t understand half of the podcast because of the audio quality.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Thea683
    Sep 2, 2020
    10

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    awesome !

    great podcast ! if you can’t hear the old interviews use earbuds !!!! really great production

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    peopleruineverything
    Jul 9, 2020
    6

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    What did he say?

    The other mystery is why anyone would put such an impressive amount of effort into researching and so very little effort into production. It was impossible to figure out what some of the people were saying. I’m not the first listener to point this out. So, please, remix or re-record or re-whatever has to be done to fix this podcast.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Rooooooonilwazlib
    Jun 23, 2020
    6

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Really Interesting Content; Audio Makes It Not Worth It

    The title says it all. I can’t hear anything that’s being said from the phone interviews and after trying really hard I just can’t anymore.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    sodiumglow
    Jun 17, 2020
    2

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    i give up... i just can't anymore.

    after multiple episodes of horrible sound of conversations with people being interviewed where the majority is unintelligible, constant intrusive and too loud "background" music, and the frustration of so badly wanting to learn more and know what's going on, i just can't anymore. i give up. i can't handle it anymore. what a disappointment!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Hannahbess
    May 9, 2020
    8

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Good reporting/story but audio is HORRIBLE

    I’m unfortunately very drawn in and interested in the story - but very annoyed I have to rewind several times to try to make out any of the audio other than the hosts. It’s not just one or two bad phone calls - anyone else who has been recorded (in the first few episodes at least) it’s literally inaudible and you have to piece together the conversation with context clues from the few words you can make out. There’s also some too noticeable background music that has made itself foreground music. Only it’s not music - it’s eerie noises intended to set the mood. Which would be effective if they weren’t drowning out the dialogue. I hope something can be done to improve the quality - maybe it’s too late/can’t be tweaked but I’d really love to know what any of those interviewees actually said. Vent being done - seemingly good research and story telling skills - as well as the overall set up of how the podcast format is - it’s just the audio quality that’s a complaint more than content and that’s why I wanted to give 4 stars.*UPDATE* now that I’ve finished listening to the unfinished story 🙄I’m not sure why you keep sounding incredulous about the diary and calling it “quote unquote”. The passage you read was very likely from her diary, not a letter. DD stands for dear diary to most teenage girls. Just a thought.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    deasvt
    May 3, 2020
    6

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Hard to hear people

    Interesting story but very hard to hear/understand the people being interviewed. The constant weird background music makes it even more difficult.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    TashNL2020
    Mar 10, 2020
    6

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Diary

    I believe the diary’s name is DeeDee. As a young girl. I named mine, this would make sense to me.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    lagoona1219
    Jan 13, 2020
    6

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    So Much Potential

    I have to agree with some of the other reviewers; I want to enjoy this podcast! It has all the makings of a real binge-worthy listen except the audio recording of various phone calls and guests is so frustrating! At first I thought it was my hearing, but others listening at the same time agreed; the sound is too tinny and sounds garbled. I’ve replayed multiple parts over and over again and can’t hear what’s being said. This makes the podcast seem “jumpy” and teases the listener with some really cool, albeit inaudible, content.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    1
    Label
    Emariej2918
    Sep 14, 2019
    4

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    What??? Can’t hear you!!

    I want to hear what these people are saying!!! I really do. But the audio is a mess. I wish the narrator recapped the convos for us listeners.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    SweepingBeautyHawaii
    Aug 24, 2019
    10

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    So glad for the update!!

    Long wait. Finally ...

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Podcastjunkie1977
    Apr 24, 2019
    2

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Cool it with the music!

    The topic is intriguing and the narrator is great, however, the nonstop horror music make it unbearable to listen to.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Happy tot
    Mar 12, 2019
    10

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Binge worthy

    GreatI gotta check out weird nj

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    rda0609
    Jan 30, 2019
    6

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Good story but...

    Having a very hard time understanding the many phone conversations, therefore, missing a lot of the story

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    BuffGurl33
    Jan 29, 2019
    6

    reviewed: DEVIL'S TEETH

    Hard to understand what they’re saying!

    I like the idea of the podcast from what I can understand but most of the interviews are really really hard to understand. The sound quality on them is horrible, I wish I could know what they’re saying because it seems interesting.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
13 Episodes 230 Ratings First Aired: Dec 21, 2015

Beginning in Summer 1972, several young New Jersey women vanish while hitchhiking. All are later found dead in the woods miles away from home - and some of their bodies are allegedly found surrounded by strange and occult objects. Some locals fear a serial killer is on the loose. Others say a Satanic cult is to blame. Whispers of a police cover-up permeate the air. What really happened? Join author and Weird NJ correspondent Jesse P. Pollack as he chronicles a strange series of cold cases that still haunt the Garden State to this very day.

Published by

People

Tagged with

History
13 Episodes 230 Ratings First Aired: Dec 21, 2015

Beginning in Summer 1972, several young New Jersey women vanish while hitchhiking. All are later found dead in the woods miles away from home - and some of their bodies are allegedly found surrounded by strange and occult objects. Some locals fear a serial killer is on the loose. Others say a Satanic cult is to blame. Whispers of a police cover-up permeate the air. What really happened? Join author and Weird NJ correspondent Jesse P. Pollack as he chronicles a strange series of cold cases that still haunt the Garden State to this very day.

Published by

People

Tagged with

History
0:00 0:00