twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    It is **not** Paper Ghost

    Listened to two episodes before I just couldn't sit through it any longer. Deleted it.

    Note: The system graded this a review a "7" - I would have given it a 1. I joined this website so I could leave this warning to others.

    The banter between these two is forced. They don't really like each other and then I find myself running from the room screaming because its so creepy.

    This genre is interesting and Phelps is knowledgeable. Not sure why it falls apart when he is talking to the co-host. He tries to be funny and relies on old stereotypes. It's sad.

    The co-host doesn't speak in an interesting way. Even if I were to give her coaching I don't know what I would say. You must speak with confidence and stopped the forced giggling.

    0
    Label
    NACP1987
    Dec 28, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Obsessed!

    I’m absolutely obsessed! I already live M. William Phelps…but this content is so needed and interesting. Wondering how I can submit a case? Great work?

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    had me then lost me
    Dec 21, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Had me then lost me

    I was kind of enjoying this podcast until Phelps brought up the difference between mental illness and a psychopath, using the example of a school shooter for mental illness. I work in a school district that borders Oxford, MI. I was 10 minutes away from the Oxford High School when the shooting happened and I can say that the kid who committed the crime was not mentally ill. He was cold and calculated and using mental illness as a scapegoat is never a good choice. There are millions of mentally ill people who do not go into schools and shoot children. This comparison gives a terrible name to mental illness and connects mental illness to violence, which is something that is very rare. Rhetoric like this is one of the reasons that mentally ill people end up in jail more often than they end up with psychiatric care. As someone with a lot of opinions about caring for victims, Phelps just disrespected lots of victims of school shootings in one sentence. I’m done with this podcast.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Corsetiere
    Dec 20, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Episode 10

    Such important info and such a perfect analogy with water temperature and a toxic relationship. I’ll share the episode far and wide. The Gift of Fear is a great book and another excellent source of related info.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ma00ra
    Dec 1, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Great Format

    Love the interaction between Phelps and Everett. Very organic and not forced.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Michelle0511
    Nov 30, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Insufferably egotistical

    Phelps is incredibly condescending to the cohost. Example that finally spoiled me for the series is from the Dorothea Puente episode, when she brought up mental illness. Yes, should have been mental health and not illness, but aggressively shutting her down with the straw man argument of ‘so you’re saying all mentally ill people are serial killers’, invalidating everything she said as ‘tropes’ was just felt like egotistical mansplaining. It’s really weird listening to one cohost of a show consistently & firmly put down. If they are that ignorant why would they be the cohost to begin with? It’s as though her role is to serve as an ill-informed foil to the all-knowing host. Listening to this podcast reminds me of every conversation I’ve had with an overly self-important male chomping at the bit to tear a woman down. What it is not is a fruitful dialogue that enlightens, brings insight or new understanding, which is what I really want in a podcast. Sidenote: I just listened to the FBI psychiatrist that worked w BTK speak about the connection between animal abuse & serial killing, so go tell her it’s a trope.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    TRAD7188
    Nov 26, 2021
    6

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Ehhhhh

    I wanna like this podcast but please for the LOVE OF GOD!! Can we get a podcast that isn’t hosted by liberals.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Lindmond
    Nov 23, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Disappointed

    I LOVED paper ghosts. But this podcast has been a disappointment. I have tried each episode’s but have not finished any of them.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    tessmedlin
    Nov 22, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    What a joke

    “Kids don’t share videos for clicks even though that’s how we make our money but we are better than you because we’re *real* journalists who definitely care about victims” Give me a break. Avoid these people like the plague. Show them you understand their point—stop clicking to reward them for taking advantage of other people’s deaths.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    KateD24
    Nov 20, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Disappointed!

    Phelps is a fantastic storyteller. That is exactly what I was looking forward to when I heard this new podcast was coming out. What I certainly had no expectations of was an unscripted commentary that doesn’t have any focus. The episodes just don’t go anywhere or talk about anything in particular. Very disappointed. I was hoping for a true crime podcast, not random conversation and opinions.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    stefuhnee90
    Nov 19, 2021
    6

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Made it to ep. 6 BUT…

    I loved Paper Ghosts. Phelps wasn’t a condescending host during that show though. It was an actual true crime investigative podcast focusing on the victims. This podcast is NOT that. For some reason, when given a co-host, Phelps decided to become less about-the-facts to more about high-horse-preaching. The co-host is fine to me, but I can do without the back and forth chit chat and opinion. Not a fan. I usually don’t like quitting a podcast, especially when I have put this much into it, but I’m gonna drop out now. I doubt anything will change or Phelps will even read and consider the feedback from fans (I read through comments, and I saw that I am not the only one feeling this way), but at least I have said my 2 cents.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    mariahagen
    Nov 18, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Disappointing

    I had high hopes for this podcast after listening to Paper Ghosts but found myself greatly disappointed. Why is the host so condescending to the co-host? If he wanted to do a solo podcast with only his opinions about everything why not just do that? And those loud, obnoxious, repetitive ads….no thanks. I listen to podcasts to help get me through my day, I don’t have time to stop what I’m doing to keep skipping past that noise. I really wanted to like this podcast.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Okie1094
    Nov 18, 2021
    2

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Stick with Paper Ghosts

    I’ve enjoyed Phelps’ other podcast, but this unscripted show is a mess. I just don’t enjoy this free-form wandering all over the place. And let’s be honest - podcasting requires a pleasant and interesting speaking voice. Phelps has one, Ms. Everett doesn’t. I gave it a good try, but after 4 shows I’m done.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    RCFam
    Nov 15, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Great Crime Insight Podcast

    M. William Phelps is a master storyteller who brings the listener along for every step of the way!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Space Cadet 68
    Nov 2, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Big fan already!!!

    I love everything that M. William Phelps does, so I’m not the most objective critic. I will say that listening to him speak honestly about true crime is a delight. He’s even better uncensored!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Coolest504312
    Nov 2, 2021
    4

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Stick to the topic

    I was expecting an actual true crime podcast. Not tons of banter back and forth about random crime topics and opinions on them. Could you please tell an actual story and save the endless commentary? This is just boring. I gave 2 stars instead of one because I like the male host’s voice and he seems knowledgeable on topics….if only they could focus on actual true crime.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    laurieonWARM
    Nov 2, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Serial Killer Monikers

    I love your compassion! It always makes me sad when I hear a serial killer’s name and I recognize it but I have no idea who their victims are. I know there’s a movement to stop using the moniker, but I wonder about using their name as well that might be a good conversation? Laura Richards and Jim Clemente do a podcast called real crime analyst. And they refused to use serial killers name they just use their initials and I wonder what you think about that? Keep up the good work.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Bschora
    Nov 1, 2021
    6

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    First impressions.

    I’m starting conservatively with 3 stars here for the following reasons, below. Now this cast is rated much higher by the general public which leaves me hopeful. Reason 1. The cast jumps right out of the gate with LOUD ads. Leaves me unimpressed. This is a big pet peeve. Would be nice to at least announce the show and episode before assaulting me with hype. Reason 2. This is also a BIG one. Tone of voice will make or break a podcast for me. If the vocal quality of a host or co-host rubs me the wrong way, I find it too difficult to stick around. There are some Ultra-Fine hosts out there just by virtue of tone, volume and cadence of voice. It’s a Fine Art. Everett has a tendency to fall into and out of a lisp. (Example, Ep 3, Puente, 5:25 minute mark.) There are other podcast hosts out there with this stigmatism, and it drives my shoulders right up into my ears. As does a host with a high-pitched whiny voice, or a cackle laugh. Now I know there are journalists, hosts, and anchor-persons that have true lisps, but then there are those that fall into and out of this enigma when expressing certain emotions, and it projects a childish persona. Teachers, coaches, professors, find ways to root this out of students.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jddjxhhd
    Oct 31, 2021
    6

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Good but could be better

    I loved Paper Ghosts & M William Phelps so I was exited to try this podcast. It’s good, but I hate to say it-I’m struggling with Everett’s voice. I hate to sound judgy, but when you’re listening to a podcast voices are really impactful and her uptalk and vocal fry are sometimes hard to listen to for a long period of time. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve heard worse, but I’m not sure how many more I’ll be able to listen to.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    KrystanUPS
    Oct 29, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps

    Only a few episodes in and already…

    Looking forward to these weekly episodes so much ! I love this guys attitude and the way he tells these stories. Cohost is perfect too ! Thanks for making the podcast guys

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
13 Episodes 305 Ratings First Aired: Sep 28, 2021

From the team that brought you Paper Ghosts, Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps is a weekly true crime podcast that dives deep into cases that have rarely been covered. Investigative journalist and host M. William Phelps brings you interviews with experts, victims’ family members, and the detectives who worked the cases. Phelps connects deeply with families of the missing and murdered, not just because he understands them - but because he is one of them. Along with producer Cristina Everett, the two will unravel not only the intricacies of the cases, but the societal structures that make these crimes possible – and often go unseen. 

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
13 Episodes 305 Ratings First Aired: Sep 28, 2021

From the team that brought you Paper Ghosts, Crossing the Line with M. William Phelps is a weekly true crime podcast that dives deep into cases that have rarely been covered. Investigative journalist and host M. William Phelps brings you interviews with experts, victims’ family members, and the detectives who worked the cases. Phelps connects deeply with families of the missing and murdered, not just because he understands them - but because he is one of them. Along with producer Cristina Everett, the two will unravel not only the intricacies of the cases, but the societal structures that make these crimes possible – and often go unseen. 

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
0:00 0:00