twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    Leathermanec
    Oct 10, 2021
    10

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Great Series

    Matt and Alice do a great double act on the faked death of the canoe man. Their banter has me in hysterics - especially when telling of John’s inability to stay hidden or even worse - his ever more desperate ‘great ideas’. The Barings Bank series was fascinating insight to a memorable scandal - easy listening with great podcast hosts

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    312479
    Oct 10, 2021
    10

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Excellent

    Great series of podcasts. Nick Leeson one is my favourite. I don’t get the negative comments on the humorous interjections. I think that’s what sets it apart. Very funny.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Bittern45
    Oct 8, 2021
    10

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Seymour

    What a credit to his mum, more power to you Seymour!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    bassline33
    Oct 8, 2021
    10

    reviewed: British Scandal

    A great story but

    Omg this story is cringe and stressful to listen too because of all of the crazy risks and blunders John makes! Like a horror film I can’t seem to look/ listen away so, that said I’m looking forward to the next episode.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    rebecca in oz123
    Oct 8, 2021
    10

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Great podcast

    Really like hearing the historic scandals with the fun banter of the presenters. Great listening while also learning!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    ElLeSaint
    Oct 7, 2021
    2

    reviewed: British Scandal

    DO NOT GET THE FREE TRIAL

    I love this podcast but I made the mistake of signing up for the free trial. I paid for the subscription membership for a month or two, but then cancelled. Now I can’t listen to any of the free episodes! What’s worse, I can’t listen to ANY wondery podcasts at all! Ever! DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THE TRIAL unless you want to carry on paying for ever and ever, otherwise it really messes up your Apple podcast app. So annoying because I loved wondery podcasts, and this one in particular!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Old Normal
    Oct 5, 2021
    10

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Canoe Con; I'm hooked

    These two tell the story in such an entertaining way and I am already itching for the next part. One of the best Podcasts I've found. Brilliant.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    amywentout
    Oct 5, 2021
    4

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Lose the ‘banter’

    I find the chatty bantering co-host format really hard to enjoy or get into, despite the fascinating subjects. It feels really unnecessary with subjects this serious and takes me out of the moment completely.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jussybel17
    Oct 4, 2021
    10

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Jolly good show!

    Enjoyable and educational all in one! I’ve smashed through all the series way too quickly so hope there are more to come. Love learning so much more about some of the big scandals of recent time and the amusing banter between the 2 hosts (Alice and Matt) really make it - as do the fascinating interviews with experts at the end of each series. Love your work team! 😊

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    tunesandlyrics
    Oct 3, 2021
    2

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Spectacularly misjudged

    I gave this 5 mins and couldn’t stand it any longer. The format is completely inappropriate - making jokes around stories of suicide and murder?! - because clearly Wondery believes this is how you make these stories “accessible”. If you had the presenters present it in a straight way, with the occasional well-written wry observation (see Spycast for good examples) then you would have a vastly superior podcast. Very disappointing.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Art0247939399
    Oct 3, 2021
    6

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Frustrating...

    Really interesting topics but very annoying ‘humour’ especially surrounding delicate subject matters, such as a tragic suicide...

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Addicted +++
    Oct 2, 2021
    10

    reviewed: British Scandal

    If Carlsberg did podcasts …..

    This is the best ever. Interesting, well researched and hilarious. Thank you so much Richard from Ireland

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Alice's number one fan 😍
    Sep 29, 2021
    10

    reviewed: British Scandal

    The Presenters Make It!

    I’m a long time podcast listener, like before it was popular!This is easily amongst my top two …… I won’t name the other one, but it’s equally as awesome!I’m kinda infatuated with Alice’s voice too …… not the normal one, ewwwww … the Aussie one!! 😂Kidding, love you long time guys, keep them coming.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Kimindex
    Sep 28, 2021
    6

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Banter

    I feel the banter and jokes interrupt the flow too much.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    HEBB1790
    Sep 28, 2021
    10

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Super interesting and entertaining

    This makes historical events so easy to understand and digest and is entertaining with it! Just the podcast I’ve been looking for.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    diamondsonmywindshield
    Sep 27, 2021
    2

    reviewed: British Scandal

    ruined by banter

    Otherwise interesting subjects peppered with ‘jokey banter’ which just breaks the mood in the most annoying way

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Katie Lately
    Sep 26, 2021
    4

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Annoying and Unnecessary

    The hosts are so impressed with their own humour it’s distracting. Annoying because I’m so interested in the stories but I can’t bear the constant interruptions. Not as good as the American version.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jomaloma
    Sep 26, 2021
    10

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Great podcast

    Really enjoying this podcast. Interesting true stories and I enjoy the humour too. Thanks

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    pwbart1986
    Sep 23, 2021
    4

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Interrupting

    Matt Forde ruins this shows format. Constant joking through the show is awful and ruins the otherwise brilliant storytelling. Alice Levine is great.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Monarch2008
    Sep 23, 2021
    8

    reviewed: British Scandal

    Great quality less ‘humour ‘ please

    Matt Forde is great in this but the terrible attempt at humour by Alice is cringeworthy and annoying . The production values are great but cheapened by the ridiculous comments and ‘jokey’ sidekick

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
78 Episodes 1.92k Ratings First Aired: Apr 19, 2021

In a country obsessed with gossip, the great and the good fear one thing more than any other - scandal.British scandals change the course of history. They bring down governments, overthrow the rich and cause the mighty to fall. Some are about sex, others about money. In the end, they’re all about power. But often at the heart of a scandal, there are ordinary human stories, stories of those caught up in the swirl of outrage. Who was really to blame for what happened? Why did they do it? And when all is said and done, did anything really change?   From the creators of Business Wars, American Scandal and Even The Rich, comes British Scandal. We tell the stories of the murkier side of the British elite, from Phone Hacking to Saville to Profumo who show us the reality of power, the price of pride and the failings of the great and good. Because sometimes the truth doesn’t set everyone free…

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
78 Episodes 1.92k Ratings First Aired: Apr 19, 2021

In a country obsessed with gossip, the great and the good fear one thing more than any other - scandal.British scandals change the course of history. They bring down governments, overthrow the rich and cause the mighty to fall. Some are about sex, others about money. In the end, they’re all about power. But often at the heart of a scandal, there are ordinary human stories, stories of those caught up in the swirl of outrage. Who was really to blame for what happened? Why did they do it? And when all is said and done, did anything really change?   From the creators of Business Wars, American Scandal and Even The Rich, comes British Scandal. We tell the stories of the murkier side of the British elite, from Phone Hacking to Saville to Profumo who show us the reality of power, the price of pride and the failings of the great and good. Because sometimes the truth doesn’t set everyone free…

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
0:00 0:00