twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    DisgustinJustin
    Feb 22, 2021
    4

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Self-serving

    Grant Wahl is actually a character in this story, yet the ethics of how our society - more specifically, powerful people in media and business and Grant himself - treated a 14 year old are largely glossed over. Instead, there is a ton of detail about each of Freddy’s stops during his career, including personalities on the team, his work ethic, which was undoubtedly questionable, and even the minutia of his preferred positions. That’s all fine and relevant, but, again, the compelling part of the story is not attacked with any vigor, mostly because the host/producer was a willing participant in the whole fiasco. And here he is capitalizing again on the story. Quite curious. Also curious are all of the 5-star reviews.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    45$tp18
    Feb 13, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Really enjoyed

    Very well done. Informative and entertaining. Worth your time. Recommend it.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Tlllight
    Jan 30, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Great

    Loved it

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    MostAcidic
    Jan 30, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    The complete answer to the question "hey, what ever happened to Freddy Adu?"

    The podcast is paced in a really satisfying way and knows exactly how much time to spend on each topic, and then when to shift gears. I felt fully engaged in the story throughout.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Toxie, the toxic avenger
    Jan 23, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Well put together and easy to follow

    Fantastic podcast. Host is great and leads you on a very entertaining journey. The jersey number fiasco was my favorite part. I highly recommend this podcast if you want to learn the whole Freddy Adu story

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Garry Taylor
    Jan 23, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Well done!

    He’s not a bust. He’s not a victim, either, nor is he blameless. Garber referring to a “confluence” of factors seems like a fair word. Let’s do Jennifer Capriati next.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Emma-Houghton-1
    Jan 21, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Incredible

    Incredible series with a great host illuminating a must-listen story.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    JessListen
    Jan 18, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Binged in one care ride

    Listened to the entire season on Freddy Adu in one road trip. I can’t wait for him to cover more athletes!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Zedanimal
    Jan 14, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Superb

    With so many moves in Adu’s career, it was difficult even for avid fans to follow - or to understand what may have happened that prevented him from becoming the player many hoped he’d become. Grant does an excellent job of laying out the story, including essential input from Freddy himself.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Evan News
    Jan 14, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Thorough & Well-Told

    Really love that Grant, even with Freddy’s interview in the can, still relies on a wide array of formed teammates, coaches and reps to help tell the story.Other podcasts might be better produced/mixed, but it’s still very solid with great storytelling. Great job Grant!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    CourtBoy21
    Jan 12, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Great soccer pod, especially if you’re American

    The best moment in the series is when they talk about how Freddy was a legend in Football Manager. Ultimate sign of a what-could-have-been.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    SparkySparksRatajczak
    Jan 12, 2021
    8

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Frequent Consumer

    I respect Wahl’s work and enjoy his interviews.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Коля я здесь
    Jan 12, 2021
    8

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Good, but...

    I thought it was poor judgment including the statement from Alecko Esskandarian about the age controversy. He backed it up with only "i knew a guy, who told me it happens all the time." He then goes on to defend saying by saying he loves Adu and teases him about it. Thought including this was a lapse in judgment, considering how you fairly called out commentators for relying heavily on (much more benign) stereotypes of African players earlier. On the ethical level, guy employeed by a pro team kicks his friend, who is coaching kids in the scrubs, when he is way down.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Pandizzle
    Jan 8, 2021
    4

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Pretty boring for such an interesting subject

    It was just kind of dull. I am glad it was only seven episodes and each episode was really brief. I never felt like I connected with Freddy or the host, both of whom felt like they were playing podcaster. I didn’t really feel any level of emotional investment.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    KodyShinny
    Jan 8, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Super interesting

    Great show with good insight into adu’s story. Enjoyed all of it. Best of luck to him. I think you could do a great show in a similar way on Jack Wilshere if you’re willing to do a non-American athlete. Good work!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Zrieger
    Jan 8, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Next American prodigy

    Amazing podcast! Would love to hear about golfer Anthony Kim who seemed to disappear off the face of the earth after a once shining golf career.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Iceman242436
    Jan 6, 2021
    8

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Solid

    Solid podcast. Took a topic and athlete I don’t care much about, and made it all somewhat interesting.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    paulsolly
    Jan 6, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    American Prodigy Follow up

    Here are some athletes that I’d like to find out whatever happened to them for future prodigy podcasts Danny FerryKris BensonJoey HarringtonVince YoungBrien Taylor Greg OldenMiles JoesphAnna KournikovaJennifer Capriati Danny AlmonteKevin MassFelipe Lopez

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    US Soccer Pod Fan
    Jan 5, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    More from the Wahl of Stories Please!

    Unbelievably well put together, I lapped up every minute, and will be following Mr. Adu even more than I did.I know this could be soccer overkill, and close in proximity to his passing...but I’d love an American prodigy on Ken Snow from Indiana University/Illinois., seems almost too legendary to have never made it big, or have more of a role on the national team?!?!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Snydea12
    Jan 5, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Prodigy: Freddy Adu

    Excellent sports journalism!!

    I became a European soccer fan after Adu’s time in the MLS spotlight. I was aware of Freddy Adu, but I never knew of his story. This podcast does a fantastic job of telling the human story behind why Freddy Adu was a household name that younger soccer fans know little about!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
37 Episodes 851 Ratings First Aired: Oct 8, 2020

He was an American prodigy. The next Pelé. The savior of U.S. soccer. But he wasn't even old enough to drive. In 2004, Freddy Adu joined MLS at 14 years old, becoming the youngest American pro team sport athlete in 100 years. His story is a tale of talent, money, fame and fútbol. Journalist Grant Wahl, who covered Freddy and LeBron James in their teens, retraces the legend of Freddy as he went from superstar to one of the biggest "what ifs," asking: What determines who "makes it" and who "doesn't"? And what does it say about our cultural obsession with the potential of young athletic genius?

Published by

People

Tagged with

Sports
37 Episodes 851 Ratings First Aired: Oct 8, 2020

He was an American prodigy. The next Pelé. The savior of U.S. soccer. But he wasn't even old enough to drive. In 2004, Freddy Adu joined MLS at 14 years old, becoming the youngest American pro team sport athlete in 100 years. His story is a tale of talent, money, fame and fútbol. Journalist Grant Wahl, who covered Freddy and LeBron James in their teens, retraces the legend of Freddy as he went from superstar to one of the biggest "what ifs," asking: What determines who "makes it" and who "doesn't"? And what does it say about our cultural obsession with the potential of young athletic genius?

Published by

People

Tagged with

Sports
0:00 0:00