twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    a1 stake suace
    Mar 17
    4

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Fracking

    The fracking episode was a bit disappointing. While it gave a good overview of the history of the technology and industry it was clearly one-sided in favor of the anti-fracking camp. The podcast focus solely on the negative aspects of fracking and omitted any of the positive ones. Cheap, dependable and most importantly domestically provided energy sources are good for American society. Renewable sources of energy that can’t self sustain without subsidies actually lower the standard of living. We are now seeing the consequences of not investing in enough cheap energy sources as we have record high inflation. If the podcast was fair and well-rounded it would highlight these aspects of the industry. It would give a more balanced understanding to listeners of a trade-off between fracking and not fracking. There doesn’t have to be a fan. We could Frack in areas where it wouldn’t affect people and not tracked in areas where it does

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    puglover0217
    Mar 6
    10

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Predator. Season 54 episode 4

    The least interesting episode of this eye opening podcast. Fascinating. The guest had what we call an “upspeak” manner of speaking. Finally started wearing on me. Otherwise, LISTEN TO THIS PODCAST. I cannot come up with enough superlative adjectives

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    emily's nickname is emily
    Feb 6
    10

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Missing episode

    Season 11, ep 2 (Rubber: The Miracle Material - Things Heat Up) is missing, could you please add it? I asked apple a couple weeks ago but alas, here I am. Otherwise podcast is great

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    WeBeGiants
    Jan 26
    10

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Who is Hedy Lamarr? Who is Philo Farnsworth?

    Thank you American Innovations for making me look like a genius in front of my family, weeknights at 7:30! I spend 20-30hrs a week in a van making home repairs. There’s something about this podcast that inspires me to find solutions to bigger problems. I hope it’s happening everywhere.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Elnegrito81
    Jan 11
    10

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Quickly Became a Fan!

    This show is great! This podcast sparks intrigue and fascination. I was instantly hooked with the first show that episode that I listened to: truxnet. I also enjoy the format of this show. Being told as a story just does all the more to draw me in. I highly recommend this show to anyone!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Eaglessoc
    Nov 29, 2021
    8

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Fracking incomplete

    Enjoyed the series except for the last episode with “like”, “right”, “you know “ author. She was very hard to listen to, because she could hardly complete a sentence without use one of the three expressions. Annoying!Would have liked an interview with someone representing the fracking industry to get the other side of the story.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Bastardsack
    Nov 17, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Love

    Aside from Wondery’s apparent righteousness over ALL of my other podcast subscriptions (somehow, they’re always at the top of my feed, regardless of episode release date…irritating) in my feed, they’ve got some hits. Specifically and especially Lindsay Graham’s shows. Great stuff.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Andrew4444
    Oct 8, 2021
    6

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Love Wondery, wish they didn’t spam so much

    I absolutely love about half the shows published by Wondery, their story telling method is very good and unlike a lot of what’s out there now. It reminds me of the old time radio that was around prior to television. One thing I find irritating is that every Tuesday, Wondery floods your timeline with unwanted plugs for their other shows with no way to opt out. Get rid of spam Tuesday’s, and this would easily be a 5 star show.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Daya-fast8-working
    Oct 8, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Love!! Well researched and an entertaining host

    I found this podcast in a special episode of DR deathI’m in love! It’s a wonderful mix of science And History, told in a lot of depth with a filmmakers flair (so it’s not boring textbook)A lot of praise to the makers of this podcastIt was so good it pushed me to get a Wondery subscription (I am in the middle of season 3 about the creation and affects of AI!!)👏👏

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    astoria luna
    Sep 23, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Innovations

    my ultimate favorite podcast

    I have been listening to American In ovations since 2018 and has been my favorite podcast the entire time. The narrative style is so engaging and makes the information so much more relatable and interesting. I love everything about the podcast (except that I go through episodes way too quickly!!)

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    hjJsj738
    Aug 19, 2021
    2

    reviewed: American Innovations

    episode 10 covid misinformation

    ep 10 is disgusting by discounting legitimate “conspiracy” theories as quackery like the wuhan lab theory and so forth absolutely disgusting

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    hats are me
    Aug 4, 2021
    8

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Good, except for 2 things

    Amazing show!!!!!This is one of my favorite podcasts, but it would be 5 stars tho f it were not for the ads and the new subscription thing. It bugs me when I see a new episode, but when I click it, I am told I need to pay for a subscription to wonder plus. Overall, good podcast

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Evan, A Kid
    Jul 27, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Follow up to my last review (get your reading glasses)

    There was a time when I was known as BlueDeltaEchoCharlie. My last review I apologize for. My favorite Podcast by far, but I was having a bad day… I hate the people who are giving 1-star reviews for simple facts that the crew has gotten wrong once, out of many many episodes. Also, politics. I do not see a reason for podcasters to not be able express their political views. Freedom of speech, my friends. As long as it doesn’t depict either side as being the bad guys, (BC in my opinion all politicians are SOBs when it gets down to it. Why do we always have to demonize anyone with different ideas?) it is alright. As for the people who criticize the subscription service, do not forget that Wondery is a business, and businesses have to make money to pay the employees. And let’s be frank, they deserve it. Each season has to be brainstormed, then spit into episodes, and each of them has to be written, writes, rewritten and edited again, then needs to be recorded multiple times over to produce the flawless lines you hear in the final episode. Then everything has to be edited in, the theme songs, the ads, and the atmospheric noise you hear during conversations. And don’t even get me started on the guests for the last episode of every season. I will be making a separate review listing all my appreciation for every person enrolled in this podcast.(HOLY CR— that was long… sorry…)

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    kylehotchkiss
    Jul 15, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Interesting content by my favorite host

    I really love Stephen Johnson’s work as an author, but even more than that I love his work hosting shows like “how we got to now” and “extra life”. This podcast seems like a natural extension of his history research as an author and he communicates the stories in such interesting ways. Mr. Johnson - much respect to you and thank you for teaching me history and pride in the innovations that America has brought to the world. And wondery, thanks for producing this interesting podcast.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Insane187
    Jul 14, 2021
    2

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Subscription fails

    Unfollowed all wondery podcasts over forced subscriptions

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Memphis consultant
    Jul 1, 2021
    8

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Amazing except for one thing

    I love this podcast. I love that my four boys love listening to it. Every time we get in the car they want to listen to it. I cringe though every time bad language is used. It is unnecessary. It doesn’t tell the story any better. Other words can be used. My boys hate it just as much as I do. Making the bleeping noise doesn’t help either. We all know what word was being said. With all that said. It is very informative and so interesting.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    SWCKittyBarrow
    Jun 5, 2021
    10

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Excellent. Educational and entertaining

    Not only am I learning a lot about history, I am continually motivated by hearing about how following a dream was not ever easy. What about the invention of Spanx? Or White Out?

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    jtrue4
    May 17, 2021
    8

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Would be 5 stars but...

    Incredibly well written and performed podcast. Very informative. Could be used for educational purposes if the unnecessary use of bad language was removed. Otherwise would be 5 stars.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Berth2020
    May 15, 2021
    8

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Margaret Sanger

    I cringe when you say Margaret Sanger was a civil rights activist when her goal was to illuminate the undesirables, people of color including women. She supported the clan. I understand what she did, but let’s tell the whole truth. How can I believe the other stories you’ve told. What else have you left outMary

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    flyoverview
    May 7, 2021
    4

    reviewed: American Innovations

    Enough on covid

    Sigh, sick of hearing about covid. I turn to podcasts to escape. Enough already

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
241 Episodes 4.03k Ratings First Aired: Apr 26, 2018 🇺🇸

DNA science. Artificial intelligence. Smartphones and 3D printers. Science and technology have transformed the world we live in. But how did we get here? It wasn’t by accident. Well, sometimes it was. It was also the result of hard work, teamwork, and competition. And incredibly surprising moments.Hosted by bestselling author Steven Johnson (“How We Got To Now”), American Innovations uses immersive scenes to tell the stories of the scientists, engineers, and ordinary people behind the greatest discoveries of the past century. From Wondery, the network behind Business Wars, American History Tellers, and Dirty John.

Published by

People

Tagged with

Business & Money
241 Episodes 4.03k Ratings First Aired: Apr 26, 2018 🇺🇸

DNA science. Artificial intelligence. Smartphones and 3D printers. Science and technology have transformed the world we live in. But how did we get here? It wasn’t by accident. Well, sometimes it was. It was also the result of hard work, teamwork, and competition. And incredibly surprising moments.Hosted by bestselling author Steven Johnson (“How We Got To Now”), American Innovations uses immersive scenes to tell the stories of the scientists, engineers, and ordinary people behind the greatest discoveries of the past century. From Wondery, the network behind Business Wars, American History Tellers, and Dirty John.

Published by

People

Tagged with

Business & Money
0:00 0:00