twitter instagram facebook link thumbsup hashtag delete
Info Episodes Discussion Reviews
    Label
    7
    Label
    weh04
    May 2
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    So Sad but Beautiful

    This is an incredibly sad story but it is beautifully told. It highlights the strength and support of a family who worked hard to move beyond the trauma they experienced. It moved me to tears many times. It is just incredible.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    KM98654
    Apr 17
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Powerful Podcast

    This story gripped me from the very first episode. I have a really hard time listening to violence, so I had to mute parts of it. But the skillful storytelling, and this family’s deep love for one another and the love they had for their community, kept me listening. I appreciate you telling this painful, gripping, and heartfelt story about what you all went through. Your parents are beautiful souls, as are you and your brother. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Kvjo
    Apr 11
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Incredible and horrifying

    This was beautifully told. Such a horrible disgusting event for this family to endure. The phases they went through and the love they shared. It’s their love for each other that got them through this no doubt.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Mooooo8
    Jan 24
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Wow

    This is an incredible podcast with an real look at grief, tragedy, and family connection. Beautifully told.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    cornmuffin5
    Jan 21
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Incredibly Beautiful

    I can’t say enough good things about this podcast. The concept is so unfathomably sad, and yet the way the story is presented leaves you with a happy and hopeful feeling. What an amazing family and what an incredible homage to Jon. Finished this in one day.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    mvalleroy
    Dec 11, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    MissyK

    This was a sad story yet kept me interested and told very well.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Murry07
    Oct 18, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Great story telling

    It’s always hard to say that a painful, heart-wrenching story is entertaining. But while ripping holes in your heart, Alligator Candy is so well-written and well-told, that you are captivated. David Kushner is a master story teller. Listen. Read.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    wilfulgreen
    Oct 9, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Lovely Story

    💚Heart

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    poiimmnhggvfdcxxeghmmmm
    Oct 3, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Great candy for the ears

    The Kushners at all so talented, gifted yes. A compelling story of loss but the story goes beyond the murder of a little 11 year old boy. The story of what happened after Jon’s death to a grieving family and a community of people. I loved this podcast and you will too. My brother Tony was murdered at age 17. Going to read David Kushner book. I need to go back to when that happened and move forward.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    nicky.namer
    Oct 1, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Well Done

    This is a beautifully written and produced podcast. Being a kid growing up in the 70s, I also used to roam my hometown with my friends. We would even walk through wooded areas to get to the 7-11 and other shops. This is one of the best podcasts I’ve listened to yet. It really got to me.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    PW from GR
    Sep 30, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Just beautiful

    We listen to stories about crimes and hear from the families but never like this. Your writing is great, and your delivery is exquisite. I can only imagine how difficult it was to do this. Your tribute is heartbreaking, and your work to help others through their grief and loss is inspiring. And happily the excellent professional production did it complete justice. I am in good tears. Thank you.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Pmuke
    Sep 30, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Beautifully done

    I love the imagery in this podcast. Very touching and well done.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    KItty_J18
    Sep 10, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    I felt this one

    My brother was also murdered so this podcast hit home for me. It is so well done and well told. It is a really difficult topic but I hope it can help others who have also been through a loss like this.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    podjunkielady
    Aug 23, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Fantastic Story Telling

    I’m not sure how one strikes the perfect balance of telling a tragic story, and leaving the audience smiling at the end, but David accomplished this. I know John would be proud!

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    J-jetty
    Aug 23, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Not a typical story about a death

    This story is told by a surviving brother and his honest and heartfelt storytelling is beautiful. It is worth your time. Thank you for your bravery in telling your family’s story. Well done, sir.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    jcgla
    Jun 6, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Heartbreaking but wonderful

    This is the untold story of what happens when a child is abducted. News stories talk about the loss experienced by parents, but this podcast shows that the loss effects everyone around the child. Jon was more than a son, he was a brother, a friend, a classmate, a student, a member of a synagogue, and a member of the community. David Kushner has the gift of making you feel as though you are there with him every step of the way. He isn’t talking at you, he is talking with you. He is wonderfully descriptive in setting a scene, which of course is heartbreaking at the same time. I was unfamiliar with Kushner, but I now want to read his books. He also has a great voice, so I hope he does more podcasts.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    kamugabug
    Jun 6, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    So good...so sad

    This podcast is amazing and so heartbreakingly sad.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Niclilolo76
    Jun 6, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Wonderfully done

    Heart wrenching, visceral and emotional but this was very well done. His strength in being able to relive his family’s worst moments is admirable. I’m grateful to have had this story shared with me. Thank you.

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Jvwonder
    Jun 6, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    A must-hear story

    This podcast made me cry, many times, and the emotions didn’t end there. I felt a pride in my fellow Americans who step up in times of need, and a thankfulness/appreciation for these community heroes. I felt inspired to help and offer up myself to the next person in my community in need. I questioned how I felt about the prison system and the death penalty...I am also a parent who listens to true crime stories or just the news tbh, and have questioned if I’m allowing my child to be a kid or forcing them into a life of fear. I often question how to have those ‘there’s bad people out there’ talks with my children bc I want my kids to be aware but also not have so much stranger danger they miss out on normal interactions. Important topics...but this story is mainly about one of the most beautiful families I’ve ever listened to. So much love is felt and I feel oddly close to the youngest brother who narrated, as if he’s my brother. Well done, all aspects are perfect and I’m a tough critic

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
    Label
    Court. D. L.
    Jun 5, 2021
    10

    reviewed: Alligator Candy

    Beautiful

    Thank you for sharing your story ♥️

    Reviewed on Apple Podcasts
    0
9 Episodes 547 Ratings First Aired: Apr 13, 2021

In 1973, David Kushner's 11-year-old older brother Jon biked through a suburban Florida forest to buy candy for his little brother, and never returned. Decades later, now an accomplished journalist and author, Kushner investigates his brother’s case and the profound impact it had on his family and community. Piecing together police reports, interviews, and the memories of loved ones––David tells the story of what happened to his family and his town, after his brother disappeared.Credits:Jessica Grimshaw- For USG AudioJosh Bloch- For USG AudioJennifer Sears- For USG AudioGretta Cohn- Executive ProducerDavid Kushner- Executive Producer, HostEmmy Rossum- Executive ProducerAlex Sujong Laughlin- ProducerJames T. Green- Producer, Sound DesignerSara Nics- Executive EditorLacy Roberts- Managing ProducerRick Kwan- Mix EngineerNocturnal Sound- Sound Design This is a USG Audio Podcast in collaboration with Transmitter Media. 

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
9 Episodes 547 Ratings First Aired: Apr 13, 2021

In 1973, David Kushner's 11-year-old older brother Jon biked through a suburban Florida forest to buy candy for his little brother, and never returned. Decades later, now an accomplished journalist and author, Kushner investigates his brother’s case and the profound impact it had on his family and community. Piecing together police reports, interviews, and the memories of loved ones––David tells the story of what happened to his family and his town, after his brother disappeared.Credits:Jessica Grimshaw- For USG AudioJosh Bloch- For USG AudioJennifer Sears- For USG AudioGretta Cohn- Executive ProducerDavid Kushner- Executive Producer, HostEmmy Rossum- Executive ProducerAlex Sujong Laughlin- ProducerJames T. Green- Producer, Sound DesignerSara Nics- Executive EditorLacy Roberts- Managing ProducerRick Kwan- Mix EngineerNocturnal Sound- Sound Design This is a USG Audio Podcast in collaboration with Transmitter Media. 

Published by

People

Tagged with

True Stories
0:00 0:00